Welcome to Running in Transit!

10 Oct

Welcome to Running in Transit!

This blog is a fusion of my love for running and travel….and running while traveling whenever possible! A little bit about me:

  • Running: I love running….I always have and I am optimistic that I always will. My mom loves to tell me how she remembers me running around as a child, on the front lawn, on the beach during vacations – I was on the run. This love of running continued on to high school cross country and track teams, on to running for fun and fitness through my early 20s and back to more competitive road races being a little older now.

  • Travel: I also love to travel, but unlike my early running days, travel is something that is relatively new to me. I have been fortunate to work in a field and in a job that provides me with the opportunity to travel domestically and internationally. I have visited numerous cities and countries around the world (see my Travel tab for a list of places I have been) and most definitely have been bitten by the travel bug.

In China for work

  • Blog: I created this blog as a way to document my running – the training, the goals and the races. After realizing that traveling is also a major part of my life right now and that I am constantly looking to find ways to incorporate exciting training runs or races into my travel schedule, wherever in the world it may take me, the blog Running in Transit was born! In addition to blogging about my day-to-day running, I plan to blog about the interesting routes or races I have done (and hope to do) around the world. I welcome feedback from readers regarding the best running routes and races in their cities, especially if I have a trip planned for that area.

While on a run in Scotland

  • Personal: My name is Mary, and as much as I adore running and travel, I have two greater loves waiting for me at home after every run and every trip…..my wonderful husband and sweet, little cat.  We live in Ottawa, ON and both my husband and I work in the amateur sport field.

Husband and cat

I hope you enjoy reading this blog and following me wherever my running takes me throughout the world!

M.

2 Responses to “Welcome to Running in Transit!”

  1. julesdownunder November 14, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Love your idea of running a race per month. I know I’ve been bitten by the race bug and will be looking for another one soon!

    • Mary November 15, 2012 at 8:35 am #

      Thanks! It’s been fun to have a race (or sometimes two!) to look forward to every month.

Leave a Reply

