Fall Race Sign-Ups

12 Oct

Lately, I have been contemplating several Fall runs and this morning decided to take the plunge and register for a couple.

Keeping in line with my other 2012 races and my goal of running at least one race a month, I have decided on a couple of 5km (I haven’t been training for any long races – half-marathons or marathons but rather have been focusing on shorter ones – 5kms and 10km with a goal to PR each of them).

My 10km PR race in April 2012!

Already having PR’ed in both the 5km and 10km (but still in the back of my mind always gunning for a faster time), and wanting to enjoy the fall running season, I have chosen two local races that some friends are also running. I haven’t decided if I will be running for a new PR or running to enjoy it with friends, but at least I have committed to the races.

The first is the Rattle Me Bones 5km -a fundraiser for the Ottawa Hospital.

I have never run this race, but it appears to be a popular fall race in the city and a fast one as well. There is a kids 1km race afterwards that I plan to stick around for as my friend’s daughters typically take part and I enjoy running along with them, cheering them on.

Running with a friend’s daughters during a Canada Day race

Rattle Me Bones is October 28th, so in just over 2 weeks time. After a challenging 10km race on Thanksgiving Sunday, and a busy summer of running, I decided to give my legs and mind a bit of a break from running for a week.

And so, after not running all week, I am now anxious to get outside and enjoy some nice, crisp fall runs this weekend to get me ready for Rattle Me Bones.

Fall running from last year at this time – hoping the weather will be just as good!

The second race I’ve signed up for is the week following Rattle Me Bones, on November 3rd. The Cookie Run is another smaller, local race. The big draw of this race is that they serve Girl Guide cookies afterwards! Who can turn down a race that serves cookies at the finish line? Clearly, not me.

So, with 2 short races on the horizon within the next 3 weeks, I am happy to have some running to look forward to this fall. Hopefully the weather is reasonable (ideally warm, but I’m not getting my hopes up) and I will be able to check off races #11 and #12 of 2012.

M.

5 Responses to “Fall Race Sign-Ups”

  1. hemingwayrun October 12, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    In your first picture it looks like a VERY pushy mother…! :o)

    • Mary October 12, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      Haha…that’s my friend (both girls in the picture are her’s). The older one was on her loop back so my friend was trying to direct her towards the finish line while I stayed with the younger one! Hard to keep two kids under 3.5 years old focused! 🙂

      • hemingwayrun October 13, 2012 at 5:08 am #

        Hard to keep an eye on them at best of times I bet, let alone in a race!

  2. HellCat12 October 27, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I love post-race food and one with Girl Scout cookies?!? Bonus! I’m following your blog to hear more about your races.

    • Mary October 27, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      Thanks for following! I will make sure to post a full recap and photos of the Cookie Run!

Leave a Reply

