Where To Run When Visiting Montreal?

16 Oct

My next trip is a short business trip to Montreal in a few weeks. Although not far from where I live now (a 2 hour drive) and my old hometown, I am still looking forward to the opportunity to explore the city on the run. Growing up, I lived in the suburbs of Montreal, and never really explored much of the city’s running routes, preferring to stay in my suburban neighborhood for most of my runs.

Now, with the opportunity to re-visit the city on foot, while out for a run, I am looking forward to what I might find.

Here is a list of some of the areas I may hit up for a run:

1) Mount Royal – A landmark in Montreal, Mount Royal offers spectacular views of the city at its summit. There are paths, parks, lookouts, & historical buildings to take in along the route to the summit.

2) Lachine Canal – A 14.5km long, flat stretch of pedestrian pathway. A Parks Canada National Historic Site, it follows a beautiful canal from the Old Port of Montreal to Lac Saint-Louis.

3) Old Port – A scenic,  charming short route conveniently located near where my business trip will be taking me in one of the oldest parts of the city.

I’m open to suggestions and recommended running routes in Montreal – please pass on any of your favorite routes that you think I should check out. 

I will happily report back on my running adventures in Montreal when I return.

M.

3 Responses to “Where To Run When Visiting Montreal?”

  1. dcmontreal October 17, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    The Old Port is going to be busy with tourists most of the time; Mount Royal has a serpentine route that is very nice and the Lachine Canal may be a problem due to cyclists.

    Have a look at the quiet streets of upper Westmount, hilly, close to downtown but safe and clean.

    Here’s something you may find interesting:

    http://dcmontreal.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/interview-with-montreal-ironman-triathlete-rory-stubbs/

    • Mary October 17, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

      Thanks for the tips! I will consider upper Westmount when planning my route!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running Advent Calendar – Day 23 – Montreal, QC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 23, 2012

    […] have blogged about running in Montreal before: here  and here, but wanted to include this great city on my list, especially as I am traveling back there today […]

Leave a Reply

