Running in Transit – Montreal

13 Nov

Last week, I traveled the short 2 hour drive to Montreal for a conference and work meetings, and took advantage of some nice weather and a prime hotel location to go for a run on beautiful Mount Royal.

Ideally, I would have gone for a couple runs during the four days I was there and covered a few other nice running paths, but the conference and meetings took up all of my time, leaving me with only Sunday to get out there for a run.

In my hotel room at the Hyatt before venturing out on my run

Before starting my run on Mount Royal, I warmed up with a light jog through the city to meet up with my adorable niece and nephew.

After a quick visit with them, I was on my way. I ran up University Ave (literally UP – the elevation was enough to make me feel as though I was walking and not running), on to Pine Ave, past Molson Stadium and finally onto Park Ave where I entered the trails connecting up to the top of Mount Royal.

Mount Royal is a jem within the city of the Montreal – a large park not far from the downtown core. I followed a trail all the way to the top and can certainly say that I am not in prime hill running shape. After 6-7 km uphill, my body was certainly feeling the unusual strains of running uphill for such a prolonged stretch.

Nevertheless, I really enjoyed the scenic, picturesque views along the run and was proud when I reached the top. The view wasn’t too bad either!

After all was said and done, I had run over 10 km (most of them uphill!) and so decided to spend the rest of the day relaxing my tired body.

One thing I can say for certain is that I’ll definitely be back to enjoy some more runs on Mount Royal and hopefully take in some of the other running trails Montreal has to offer!

M.

4 Responses to “Running in Transit – Montreal”

  1. Molly @ A Fresh Start For Molly November 14, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Last time I was in Montreal I was not a runner – so I will keep this in mind for my next visit! It’s the closest “big” city to my home in Saint John, N.B.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running Advent Calendar – Day 23 – Montreal, QC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 23, 2012

    […] have blogged about running in Montreal before: here  and here, but wanted to include this great city on my list, especially as I am traveling back […]

  2. 2012 Running Year in Review « Running in Transit - January 7, 2013

    […] Montreal, Quebec – A sunny, fall run through gorgeous Mount Royal (November). […]

Leave a Reply

