Resolution Run Sign Up

16 Nov

I’ve decided my last race of the year will be on the last day of the year! I just signed up for the 2012 Resolution Run 5km.

It will be held on December 31st at 5:15 pm and my options for where to run it were abundant. The race is organized through the Running Room and is held in over 50 cities across Canada on either December 31st or January 1st.

In deciding where to do this race, my husband and I planned out our Christmas holiday schedule and decided we would be visiting his family near London, Ontario after Christmas and through until New Years Day. I love to opportunity to run while traveling…and I REALLY love the opportunity to race while traveling.

With that decided, I registered for the London, Ontario Resolution Run and will be able to include a new city on my list of places that I have raced in come December 31st.

This race will mark my 13th race of 2012 and the completion of my 1 race per month goal, so I am looking forward to it. A 2012 Race Year in Review to come in January.

I am also looking forward to what hopes to me the best race kit I will have ever received as it comes with a technical running jacket.

I have been on the hunt for a new running jacket for a little while now, and I am hoping that this is my answer. Sizing for the jacket is unisex, and since I am on the small side, I am hoping the smallest size they have fits me well enough.

This will also be the first night race I do in the dark. I have run one other evening race, but it was in the month of May so was still light out by race time. This race will be starting shortly after sunset, so I may need to get some practice night runs in before race day.

All that’s left now is to hope for decent weather and running conditions for New Year’s Eve!

M.

11 Responses to “Resolution Run Sign Up”

  1. RunToInspire November 16, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    I’m doing a run the next day in London on my travels too – it’s so fun running in other cities. AND I just agreed to do a race a month, so am looking forward to your review in Jan 🙂

    • Mary November 16, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      I really love running in other cities – there’s something about a new route and a chance to see a new city on the run that I can’t get enough of.
      Good luck with your race a month goal – I had fun with mine in 2012!

  2. Rebecca November 16, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    Ottawa is already sold out 😦 A bunch of us at work were thinking about doing it. We are pretty disappointed.

    I may sign up for the one in Mississauga – as there is a chance we will be there to visit my folks.

    • Mary November 16, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

      I noticed that about the Ottawa one – I was surprised it was sold out so soon. Must be a popular race! I’m glad I didn’t have my heart set on running it in Ottawa.

      At least if you do run it in Mississauga, there’s a chance of more pleasant weather than in Ottawa! Or at least that’s what I am hoping for London! 🙂

  3. jessicamirkes November 16, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

    I love night runs! I did one this summer and it was so cool to run with a group of people on the lit streets. In the run in a city or in a more rural area? I bet there still might be some holiday lights though!

    • Mary November 17, 2012 at 10:55 am #

      I think it’s in an urban area so should be well lit. Hopefully there are lots of Christmas lights, that would be fun!

  4. imarunner2012 November 17, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Cool. I’m running 1/1/13 in Lowell, MA. Running a New Year’s Day race has become a new tradition with my running friends. Have a great race!
    I’m all ready planning for next year and have registered for a bunch of races. I have three races left to run in 2012.
    Great blog.

    • Mary November 17, 2012 at 11:01 am #

      Sounds like a great tradition! Good luck in your final 3 races of 2012.

  5. Emily November 28, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    What a nice race premium – I hope the jacket fits well! There is a race in my city that begins as the ball drops at midnight. I’ve run it once before, but it definitely dominates the evening, which I suppose is healthier than the food and drink I’d be having otherwise! Sounds like a great race idea for you to round out the year and your goal.

    • Mary November 28, 2012 at 9:08 am #

      Thanks Emily, I am really looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

