Christmas Running Wish List

28 Nov

With Christmas less than a month away now, everyone seems to be getting into the spirit of things and sharing their wish lists. I thought this would be a good time for me to do the same. I have had my eye on a few running specific items lately, and thought I would share what is currently at the top of my wish list:

1) Road ID : This is something I have been meaning to get for a while.  The Road ID will provide emergency information in the event that anything were to happen to me while out for a run.

 

2) Compression socks: I have been eyeing these for some time now, but as haven’t been able to determine which brand I would most like, I haven’t taken the plunge into buying any yet. I have been looking at the CEP, PRO Compression and Lululemon brands….and I welcome any recommendations as to what your favorite brand is.

CEP Conpression Socks

PRO Compression Socks

Lululemon Compression Socks

3) Extreme Weather Running Tights : With the cold and snowy weather we get here in Ottawa, I have typically opted to go with layers on the bottom in the winter months for runs outside. I have been looking for a pair of tights that could hold up to the winters we get, and found one kind that I would love to test out. These are from the Running Room and are wind-proof, water-proof, breathable  and warm.

4) Saucony Kinvara 3: I have had my eye on trying out a minimalist shoe and the Kinvaras have always been my favorite.  I just won a new pair of Saucony Guide 6s so I don’t really NEED new shoes right now, but the Kinvaras will remain on my perpetual wish list until a time comes that I get to try them out.

5) Any running clothes:  I must say, running clothes are my favorite type of clothes to buy. I, therefore, have been unable to narrow it down to just one thing.

And so, those are the items at the top of my wish list for right now.

I have been very fortunate over the course of this past year to have acquired many other amazing running products, some of which I don’t know how I ever ran without!

If anyone is looking for great ideas for runners on their Christmas lists, I highly recommend all of these products – I have gone through most of this past year with them all and can safely say they are perfect for runners:

1) Garmin 405CX

2) Ipod Shuffle

3) Saucony Guide shoes

4) Lululemon Artic Run Gloves

5) New Balance touque with ponytail hole

6) Adidas cap

As you can see, I enjoy a wide variety of product brands. There are so many fantastic running brands out there, and I tend to remain loyal to a particular product if it meets my expectations and serves my needs, but not specifically to one brand…although, if one brand were to meet my needs with all of the above products, I’m sure I wouldn’t have any problem remaining loyal.

M.

32 Responses to “Christmas Running Wish List”

  1. Britta November 28, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    What a great wish list…mine will be quite similar 😀 I want a Garmin soooo bad. Even if I dont get anything else.. I’ll be happy with JUST a garmin! 🙂 Happy Running!

    • Mary November 28, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

      My Garmin is hands down my favorite running item! I highly recommend it to any runner – you will LOVE it.

  2. rebeccaw7 November 28, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    I like the hat with the ponytail hole!

    • Mary November 28, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      It’s super convenient! There are so many different brands that have come out with them now, the Lululemon ones look really nice too, but I do love my NB one.

      • Floris A. November 28, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

        I’ve never seen them before but that I know they exist I have to add that hat to my running wardrobe. 😀

  3. supergenericgirl November 28, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    I’ve got those exact same CEP compression socks and LOVE them. A Garmin is also on my list for this year… did ya hear me, Santa?

    • Mary November 29, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      Do you have the hot pink CEP socks? They look great…and would match my iPod and running cap perfectly! I’ll cross my fingers you get your Garmin – it’s the best running gadget out there.

      • supergenericgirl December 4, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

        Yes, the hot pink ones. So comfortable and, yeah, they’re the perfect touch of color to my otherwise boring running outfits. I think they’re supposed to be recovery socks only but I use them both for recovery and also while running. Ran a half marathon in them and felt great.

  4. kmt4n November 28, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Compression socks: I use Zensah sleeves and I love, love, LOVE them! I highly recommend them; they’ve been a life-saver. Can’t speak to the full socks, but I imagine they’d be great too.

    • Mary November 29, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      Thanks for the recommendation – I will definitely look into the Zensah sleeves.

  5. Runningdaze November 29, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    I love pro compression. I have zensahs too but pro compression wins that battle…they feel better on and they don’t collect lint like my zensahs.

    • Mary November 29, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks for the compression sock recommendation!

  6. Molly @ A Fresh Start For Molly November 30, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    My entire Christmas wish list is running-related. I hate spending money so a lot of my current gear are hand-me-downs or things that don’t fit right – I’m hoping Christmas will help me start building a proper running wardrobe!

    • Mary December 1, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      Here’s hoping Santa’s good to you! The right running gear makes all the difference.

  7. bugontherun December 2, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    i have been running in the kinvara 3s for about 6 months now…i switched over after a recurring case of patellar tendonitis and have not had any problems since..LOVE them! such a great idea for the pony tail hat – will have to add to my list!

    • Mary December 2, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

      Thanks for the positive recommendation for the Kinvaras – makes me want them even more now!

  8. terrepruitt December 2, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    I am imagining you having shared this list with your husband. 🙂

    • Mary December 2, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

      I sure am!:)

  9. thewindykitchen December 5, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    I may put some of these on my list as the glass stained medal from the Chicago Polar Dash is tempting me 🙂

  10. familyfitmom December 6, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    I LOVE my Garmin too! I have the road id in pink it’s a must have for those that run alone. I’ve been considering the compression socks too but haven’t taken the plunge!

    • Mary December 7, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      I’m really hoping this is the year I too take the plunge into compression socks – let us know how they feel if you do get them. I’ve read about so many different brands, not sure which one to pick now.

  11. Nikki December 7, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    I didn’t know hats with ponytail holes existed! That was the main reason I haven’t been wearing them! (I use the 180s ear muffs instead.) I might have to add this to my wish list…

    • Mary December 7, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

      It is an awesome hat! I’ve see more and more and them in stores this winter too (well…in stores here in Canada!)

  12. Kelly @ RaceFor50States December 11, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    I will definitely have to follow your blog! I travel 100% for work, so I can definitely relate to finding time to run on the road, as your blog header states! Also, I can’t believe I left off Road ID. Now there’s a good investment for girls on the go!

    • Mary December 11, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      Thanks for the follow Kelly! Nice to hear from someone with some of the same experiences. Good luck in your goal to race in all 50 states – so exciting!

  13. livedreamrun December 12, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Great wish list! Thanks for the garmin info. I’ve been eyeing them up, and I think it’s time I had one. 🙂

  14. Lindsay @FitandAwesome December 13, 2012 at 2:07 am #

    I have the Garmin 405CX and the ipod shuffle. Both are critical for me when it comes to performance. Running pumps me up and gotta have the Garmin to track my progress!

    I made my holiday running gift guide today too. It has the shuffle on it. The new turquoise colored one is oh so cute! http://fitandawesome.com/product-reviews/holiday-gift-guide-for-runners-running-queen/

  15. Anita Mac December 22, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    What about running snow shoes???? Think they are on my list for this year. May try Bustakah – I hear they have some good ones.!

    • Mary December 22, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

      I’ve never tried running snow shoes – sound interesting though. Let me know what they are like if you get some!

  16. Sheslosingit.net December 23, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    The gloves look so warm and toasty! Hope you get your wishlist. Here’s my favorite gift I ever received: http://sheslosingit.net/2012/12/22/my-favorite-gift/

    Lisa
    http://sheslosingit.net

  17. nicstirling December 27, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    LOVE your Christmas wish list… so what did you get in the end? I’ve got my Garmin already, and love my roadID – I wear it every time! No need for winter wear in Aust although am wondering if I’ll need it for Paris next year… hopefully I can survive with the gear I already have for our warmer winter weather.

    • Mary December 27, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

      I ended up getting a road Id and some gift cards that will get me the running tights and hopefully compression socks too!

Leave a Reply

