Running Advent Calendar – Day 5 – Central Park, New York City, USA

5 Dec

It’s Day 5 of my Running Advent Calendar. If you are new to my blog, my Running Advent Calendar features different running routes around the world from December 1st to 24th.

For the first 4 days, I have explored some of the best places in the world that I have run. Today, I will be looking at a city and a running route I have been to but have not yet had the opportunity to run in…and that is New York City, and more specifically, Central Park.

New York City

NYC is on the wishlist my husband and I have for cities we would like to visit, and as it is only about a 7 hour drive to get there, it’s entirely doable, even just for a short trip (we regularly drive that same distance to visit family, and sometimes even double that in the summer time to drive to the East Coast!)

new_york_city1

Having been to NYC once, almost a decade ago for a field hockey tournament, I can safely say that it is somewhere I really want to return to. As I was there for reasons other than simply being a tourist and enjoying the city, I didn’t get the opportunity to do everything I wanted to do…including, most importantly right now, running in Central Park.

Central Park appears to be a beautiful, urban oasis for runners. Having read some amazing posts by one of my favorite NYC bloggers -Ali at Ali On the Run (whom I have not met but hope to when I finally do get to run in Central Park), I definitely know this is a place I want to run one day!

central park (credit nycgovparks.org)

Central Park (photo credit: nycgovparks.org)

It is about 6 miles to cover the entire park with some smaller appealing looking loops with great city views and soft running surfaces.

Central Park

That said, I definitely do plan to return to NYC one day and the first thing on my list will be to run in Central Park…I may even plan it so that there’s a race I can run at the same time. Any recommendations on good races in Central Park?

Stay tuned for Day 6 of the Running Advent Calendar tomorrow and check out Days 1 – 4 of my Running Advent Calendar here in case you missed them:

Day 1: Lakeside, PEI, Canada

Day 2: Loch Lomond, Scotland

Day 3: San Francisco, California, USA

Day 4: Gatineau Park, Quebec, Canada

M.

32 Responses to “Running Advent Calendar – Day 5 – Central Park, New York City, USA”

  1. abbeyspiro December 5, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    What a cool idea! I also have a strong desire to run in Central Park, I’ve been there several times (my aunt lives there) and have walked in CP but never been on a run and I have these grand ideas about how awesome it would be also 🙂

    • Mary December 5, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      Hope you get a chance to run there! Post a recap if you do, I’d love to hear about it.

      • abbeyspiro December 5, 2012 at 9:57 am #

        I will for sure – and you too! hopefully it lives up to all our expectations 🙂

  2. Kat December 5, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    No recs for races, alas, but one of my most favorite runs of my life happened in Central Park this fall while I was training for my first marathon. (Shameless plug for my blog – I wrote about it here: http://skatologicalhumor.wordpress.com/2012/10/23/i-left-my-heart-in-new-york-city/)

    Easily a run I’ll never forget. I hope you can make it down there sooner, rather than later!

    • Mary December 5, 2012 at 10:45 am #

      Thanks Kat! I’ll check out your recap of Central Park!

  3. Miss Plod December 5, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    Love your running advent calendar idea. Brilliant.

  4. imarunner2012 December 5, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    Cool idea. If you need another great place to run, The Esplanade in Boston is fantastic. I run it often. I’ve seen video of running in Central Park and it looks busy. But I’ve heard that it is great and something to experience.

    • Mary December 5, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

      Thanks! Boston is actually on my list and will certainly be featured at some point in the next 20 days!

  5. reach-yourpeak December 5, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    check out NYRR or NYCRuns for races in central park…I love racing in central park/running in central park in general it is BEAUTIFUL.

    • Mary December 5, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      Thanks for the tip! I will definitely check them out when I one day plan my trip to NYC!

  6. rileduprunner December 8, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    I love this. When you and your husband bite the bullet and make the drive, dibs on being your bridle path tour guide!

    • Mary December 8, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

      That would be awesome!! I will keep you posted – I’d love a tour guide and a running companion!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running Advent Calendar – Day 6 – London, England « Running in Transit - December 6, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  2. Running Advent Calendar – Day 7 – Paris, France « Running in Transit - December 7, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  3. Running Advent Calendar – Rome, Italy « Running in Transit - December 8, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  4. Running Advent Calendar – Day 9 – Stanley Park,Vancouver, Canada « Running in Transit - December 9, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  5. Running Advent Calendar – Day 10 – Boston, Massachusetts, USA « Running in Transit - December 10, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  6. Running Advent Calendar – Day 11 – Great Wall of China « Running in Transit - December 11, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  7. Running Advent Calendar – Day 12 – Honolulu, Hawaii, USA « Running in Transit - December 12, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  8. Running Advent Calendar – Day 13 – Hong Kong « Running in Transit - December 13, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  9. Running Advent Calendar – Day 14 – Venice, Italy « Running in Transit - December 14, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  10. Running Advent Calendar – Day 15 – Chicago, IL, USA « Running in Transit - December 15, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  11. Running Advent Calendar – Day 16 – Sydney, Australia « Running in Transit - December 16, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  12. Running Advent Calendar – Day 17 – Victoria, BC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 17, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  13. Running Advent Calendar – Day 18 – Toronto, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 18, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  14. Running Advent Calendar – Day 19 – Dublin, Ireland « Running in Transit - December 19, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  15. Running Advent Calendar – Day 20 – Barcelona, Spain « Running in Transit - December 20, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  16. Running Advent Calendar – Day 21 – Rio de Janerio, Brazil « Running in Transit - December 21, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  17. Running Advent Calendar – Day 22 – Athens, Greece « Running in Transit - December 22, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  18. Running Advent Calendar – Day 23 – Montreal, QC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 23, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

  19. Running Advent Calendar – Day 24 – Ottawa, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 24, 2012

    […] Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA […]

Leave a Reply

