Running Advent Calendar – Day 8 – Rome, Italy

8 Dec

It’s Day 8 of my Running Advent Calendar and for the past week I have been having a great time exploring different running routes from around the world. Today’s post brings me to Rome, Italy.

Vatican

I traveled to Rome once before, in February 2011, for a short three day trip following an almost month long business trip to Turkey.  Although I am a little disappointed to say that I did not get out for a run while I was there, I did manage to take in most of the city on foot (and with a map).

I loved everything about Rome, and know that if I were to go back now being more familiar with the city, I would certainly be out there running.

Mary in Italy

One of the memorable walks that I took while in Rome was one that I would next time turn into a run. It provided beautiful views of the city, some wonderful sites and some less tourist congested space for a run (well, it appeared to be less congested in February when I was there).

I began at my hotel which was located near the Pantheon and worked my way though the streets of Rome, passed the Trevi Fountain (remembering to throw a coin in as I went by) and up towards the Spanish Steps.

Trevi Fountain

Passed the Spanish Steps was the beautiful park named Villa Borghese – this is where the bulk of the run would take place along the many paths and trails available within it.

Villa Borghese

SAMSUNG DIGITAL MOVIE

To my great surprise while I was there for a walk, as I neared the end of the park, I was granted a beautiful view of the city, looking down onto Piazza del Popolo – where I processed to have lunch and rest my legs.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL MOVIE

And so, since I threw that coin over my shoulder in the Trevi fountain, I guess that means I will be returning to Rome…and I will be running instead of walking next time!

Stay tuned for Day 9 of the Running Advent Calendar tomorrow and check out Days 1 – 7 of my Running Advent Calendar here in case you missed them:

Day 1: Lakeside, PEI, Canada

Day 2: Loch Lomond, Scotland

Day 3: San Francisco, California, USA

Day 4: Gatineau Park, Quebec, Canada

Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA

Day 6: London, England

Day 7: Paris, France

M.

21 Responses to “Running Advent Calendar – Day 8 – Rome, Italy”

  1. Kori December 9, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    I love this. Rome in particular has a very special place in my heart, because I studied abroad there in college. I loved running through the park near our dorm. Ah, those were the days.

    • Mary December 9, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

      It is a really beautiful city! I really hope I do return one day.

  2. Peggy Tee December 16, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    I found Rome in general to be really dusty – and also the Italians look at you as if you were crazy, if you run past them in the streets… the Villa Borghese is a wonderful place though for a short run. Great pick!

  3. Sheslosingit.net December 22, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    I love Rome! In fact, my husband re-proposed to me in front of the fountain: http://sheslosingit.net/2012/06/30/will-you-marry-me-again/

    Lisa
    http://sheslosingit.net

    • Mary December 22, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

      Just read the re-proposal story! How romantic!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running Advent Calendar – Day 9 – Stanley Park,Vancouver, Canada « Running in Transit - December 9, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  2. Running Advent Calendar – Day 10 – Boston, Massachusetts, USA « Running in Transit - December 10, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  3. Running Advent Calendar – Day 11 – Great Wall of China « Running in Transit - December 11, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  4. Running Advent Calendar – Day 12 – Honolulu, Hawaii, USA « Running in Transit - December 12, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  5. Running Advent Calendar – Day 13 – Hong Kong « Running in Transit - December 13, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  6. Running Advent Calendar – Day 14 – Venice, Italy « Running in Transit - December 14, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  7. Running Advent Calendar – Day 15 – Chicago, IL, USA « Running in Transit - December 15, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  8. Running Advent Calendar – Day 16 – Sydney, Australia « Running in Transit - December 16, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  9. Running Advent Calendar – Day 17 – Victoria, BC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 17, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  10. Running Advent Calendar – Day 18 – Toronto, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 18, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  11. Running Advent Calendar – Day 19 – Dublin, Ireland « Running in Transit - December 19, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  12. Running Advent Calendar – Day 20 – Barcelona, Spain « Running in Transit - December 20, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  13. Running Advent Calendar – Day 21 – Rio de Janerio, Brazil « Running in Transit - December 21, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  14. Running Advent Calendar – Day 22 – Athens, Greece « Running in Transit - December 22, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  15. Running Advent Calendar – Day 23 – Montreal, QC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 23, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

  16. Running Advent Calendar – Day 24 – Ottawa, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 24, 2012

    […] Day 8: Rome, Italy […]

Leave a Reply

