Running Advent Calendar – Day 10 – Boston, Massachusetts, USA

10 Dec

Welcome to Day 10 of my Running Advent Calendar (day by day, I explore a running route from somewhere in the world). Today I will look at a particular running route in Boston, Massachusetts….not the Boston Marathon route, but rather a scenic route along the Charles River Esplanade.

charles-river-boston-arthur-fiedler-statue

Although I dream of one day running the Boston Marathon, I think for right now, I have better odds of running the Esplanade.

I have been to Boston several times as I have some family in that area, but most of my trips were as a child, so I did not have much of an opportunity to explore the area on the run.

I have always thought of Boston as a beautiful, historic city and this is why it is part of my Running Advent Calendar.

boston

The Esplanade has 17 miles of riverside pathway, perfect for a run of just about any distance. Next time I head down to Boston, I just might have some family members point me in the direction of the Esplanade!

Stay tuned for Day 11 of the Running Advent Calendar tomorrow and check out Days 1 – 9 of my Running Advent Calendar here in case you missed them:

Day 1: Lakeside, PEI, Canada

Day 2: Loch Lomond, Scotland

Day 3: San Francisco, California, USA

Day 4: Gatineau Park, Quebec, Canada

Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA

Day 6: London, England

Day 7: Paris, France

Day 8: Rome, Italy

Day 9: Stanley Park, Vancouver, BC, Canada

M.

18 Responses to “Running Advent Calendar – Day 10 – Boston, Massachusetts, USA”

  1. Kelly @ RaceFor50States December 11, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    When training for my first marathon last spring I did my first seriously long run (16 miles) along the St. Charles! It was absolutely beautiful, especially with all the crews out on the river!

    • Mary December 11, 2012 at 11:19 am #

      Sounds amazing! I hope I get back to Boston to do it one day!

  2. Nikki December 13, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    That’s my city! Just took my French bf for a beautiful walk along the esplanade when there in November. I’m not much of a runner, but it seems like the perfect place to lose yourself and enjoy a scenic run! 🙂

    • Mary December 13, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      That’s awesome! Boston is a great city, I hope to get back there sometime soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running Advent Calendar – Day 11 – Great Wall of China « Running in Transit - December 11, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  2. Running Advent Calendar – Day 12 – Honolulu, Hawaii, USA « Running in Transit - December 12, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  3. Running Advent Calendar – Day 13 – Hong Kong « Running in Transit - December 13, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  4. Running Advent Calendar – Day 14 – Venice, Italy « Running in Transit - December 14, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  5. Running Advent Calendar – Day 15 – Chicago, IL, USA « Running in Transit - December 15, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  6. Running Advent Calendar – Day 16 – Sydney, Australia « Running in Transit - December 16, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  7. Running Advent Calendar – Day 17 – Victoria, BC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 17, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  8. Running Advent Calendar – Day 18 – Toronto, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 18, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  9. Running Advent Calendar – Day 19 – Dublin, Ireland « Running in Transit - December 19, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  10. Running Advent Calendar – Day 20 – Barcelona, Spain « Running in Transit - December 20, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  11. Running Advent Calendar – Day 21 – Rio de Janerio, Brazil « Running in Transit - December 21, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  12. Running Advent Calendar – Day 22 – Athens, Greece « Running in Transit - December 22, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  13. Running Advent Calendar – Day 23 – Montreal, QC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 23, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

  14. Running Advent Calendar – Day 24 – Ottawa, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 24, 2012

    […] Day 10: Boston, MA, USA […]

Leave a Reply

