Running Advent Calendar – Day 15 – Chicago, IL, USA

15 Dec

Welcome to Day 12 of my Running Advent Calendar (day by day, I explore a running route from somewhere in the world). Today I will look at Chicago, Illinois, USA.

(Photo credit mindfrieze)

(Photo credit mindfrieze)

A friend of mine ran the Chicago Marathon a few years ago and encouraged me to use it as my first ever marathon – I am contemplating doing just that when I decide the time is right for a marathon.

That said, the idea of running in Chicago sparked my interest and even if I don’t get to run the marathon there, I would still love to run along one particular running route  – the Chicago Lakefront Trail.

Photo credit: Alanscottwalker

Photo credit: Alanscottwalker

The Chicago Lakefront Trail is an 18 mile long trail along the Michigan River. It offers spectacular views of the Chicago skyline and spans across some of the best parks in the city (Grant Park, Lincoln Park, Burnham Park and Jackson Park).

Lakefront, long runs are some of my absolute favorite types of runs, and this particular running route would certainly be able to accommodate just that.

ChicagoLakefrontPath1roche-500

Stay tuned for Day 16 of the Running Advent Calendar tomorrow and check out Days 1 – 14 of my Running Advent Calendar here in case you missed them:

Day 1: Lakeside, PEI, Canada

Day 2: Loch Lomond, Scotland

Day 3: San Francisco, California, USA

Day 4: Gatineau Park, Quebec, Canada

Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA

Day 6: London, England

Day 7: Paris, France

Day 8: Rome, Italy

Day 9: Stanley Park, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Day 10: Boston, MA, USA

Day 11: Great Wall of China

Day 12: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Day 13: Hong Kong

Day 14: Venice, Italy

M.

19 Responses to “Running Advent Calendar – Day 15 – Chicago, IL, USA”

  1. Kelly @ RaceFor50States December 15, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I did my first half marathon in Chicago. I LOVE the lakefront trail! While it’s flat, the scenery like you mentioned is great, and oh my the PEOPLE WATCHING!

    • Mary December 15, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

      That’s awesome!

  2. Brittany December 15, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    Chicago seems like an ideal running destination! I love that shot of the road by the water.

    • Mary December 15, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

      It does seem pretty perfect for running! I hope to get there to see it someday!

  3. Elise December 21, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    I LOVE running in Chicago, and though I’ve never run the marathon, I’ve heard nothing but good things about it — and I think its a fabulous choice for the day you decide to ‘take the 26.2 mile plunge.’ Also, love this series of places to run…makes me want to travel!

    • Mary December 21, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

      Thanks! It’s been really fun to write for the last 21 days. It’s definitely making me anxious to get out and travel again soon!

  4. imarunner2012 December 23, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    The Chicago Marathon is on my list and my buddies and I thought about doing it this year. I have a new colleague from Chicago and she promised to help me plan my trip. I think it will happen in 2013.

    • Mary December 24, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      That’s great! Best if luck if you do get the chance to do it

  5. thewindykitchen December 26, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    we are very lucky to have such a great running path along the lake! the views are so nice that every now and then I slow down to snap some pictures with my phone 😉 I also love watching the cardinals/squirrels/rabbits play during my cool down walk!

    • Mary December 27, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      You are very lucky indeed!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running Advent Calendar – Day 16 – Sydney, Australia « Running in Transit - December 16, 2012

    […] Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA […]

  2. Running Advent Calendar – Day 17 – Victoria, BC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 17, 2012

    […] Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA […]

  3. Running Advent Calendar – Day 18 – Toronto, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 18, 2012

    […] Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA […]

  4. Running Advent Calendar – Day 19 – Dublin, Ireland « Running in Transit - December 19, 2012

    […] Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA […]

  5. Running Advent Calendar – Day 20 – Barcelona, Spain « Running in Transit - December 20, 2012

    […] Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA […]

  6. Running Advent Calendar – Day 21 – Rio de Janerio, Brazil « Running in Transit - December 21, 2012

    […] Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA […]

  7. Running Advent Calendar – Day 22 – Athens, Greece « Running in Transit - December 22, 2012

    […] Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA […]

  8. Running Advent Calendar – Day 23 – Montreal, QC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 23, 2012

    […] Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA […]

  9. Running Advent Calendar – Day 24 – Ottawa, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 24, 2012

    […] Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA […]

Leave a Reply

