Running Advent Calendar – Day 17 – Victoria, BC, Canada

17 Dec

Today is Day 17 of my Running Advent Calendar. I have been exploring different running route from around the world everyday for the first 24 days of December leading up to Christmas. As it has been several days since I mentioned a running route in my home country, today I bring you a running route from Victoria, British Columbia, Canada.

DSCN1281

As large as Canada is, it is just as diverse. Victoria, BC is located on the far western part of the country, and experiences weather and climate differently than cities in the eastern part of the country do (where I live).

Although only having been to Victoria twice, I have fallen in love with its beauty and wonderful, temperate climate. It is located in a sub-Mediterranean zone, and has the mildest climate in all of Canada. Its appeal of being able to run in shorts year-round has not been lost on me!

DSCN1282

There are a multitude of beautiful routes that can be accessed year route, but again, I am a sucker for routes near water and major sites in a city, so I have selected a running route through downtown Victoria, around the Inner Harbour and with a final loop around nearby Beacon Hill Park.

DSCN1280

This route takes in a lot of the major sites in Victoria, my favorite of which is the gorgeous waterfront views of the famous Empress Hotel and the stunning Legislature building.

Stay tuned for Day 18 of the Running Advent Calendar tomorrow and check out Days 1 – 16 of my Running Advent Calendar here in case you missed them:

Day 1: Lakeside, PEI, Canada

Day 2: Loch Lomond, Scotland

Day 3: San Francisco, California, USA

Day 4: Gatineau Park, Quebec, Canada

Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA

Day 6: London, England

Day 7: Paris, France

Day 8: Rome, Italy

Day 9: Stanley Park, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Day 10: Boston, MA, USA

Day 11: Great Wall of China

Day 12: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Day 13: Hong Kong

Day 14: Venice, Italy

Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA

Day 16: Sydney, Australia 

M.

11 Responses to “Running Advent Calendar – Day 17 – Victoria, BC, Canada”

  1. Cate December 17, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    I have really enjoy your running series featuring so many different cities. It’s made me reflect on the many places I’d love to run!

    • Mary December 17, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

      Thank you, Cate! It’s been a lot of fun writing them as well. I’ve discovered that since a lot are places I might be headed to in the near future or hope to get to one day, I already have some important running related research done for each of those trips!

  2. RunChalitaRun December 18, 2012 at 1:15 am #

    Victoria looks like a great city to run in! I love your list! It’s exciting to see that I’ve ran in 8 of those cities you’ve listed 🙂 Made me miss home so much too!

    • Mary December 19, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      Thank you.
      Wow – you’ve run in 8 cities on my list, that’s great, which ones?

      Victoria is such a beautiful city – I highly suggest making that your 9th!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running Advent Calendar – Day 18 – Toronto, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 18, 2012

    […] Day 17: Victoria, BC, Canada […]

  2. Running Advent Calendar – Day 19 – Dublin, Ireland « Running in Transit - December 19, 2012

    […] Day 17: Victoria, BC, Canada […]

  3. Running Advent Calendar – Day 20 – Barcelona, Spain « Running in Transit - December 20, 2012

    […] Day 17: Victoria, BC, Canada […]

  4. Running Advent Calendar – Day 21 – Rio de Janerio, Brazil « Running in Transit - December 21, 2012

    […] Day 17: Victoria, BC, Canada […]

  5. Running Advent Calendar – Day 22 – Athens, Greece « Running in Transit - December 22, 2012

    […] Day 17: Victoria, BC, Canada […]

  6. Running Advent Calendar – Day 23 – Montreal, QC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 23, 2012

    […] Day 17: Victoria, BC, Canada […]

  7. Running Advent Calendar – Day 24 – Ottawa, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 24, 2012

    […] Day 17: Victoria, BC, Canada […]

Leave a Reply

