Running Advent Calendar – Day 18 – Toronto, ON, Canada

18 Dec

It’s now Day 18 of my Running Advent Calendar (24 different running routes from around the world in 24 days) and I plan to explore a running route in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Photo credit  scaturchio

Photo credit scaturchio

Today I am actually flying into Toronto for a quick 24 hours worth of business meetings, so I thought I would make my Running Advent Calendar relevant to my current travels.

Unfortunately though, this is just too quick a trip to get a run in but I wanted to share a wonderful running route I had the opportunity to run while in Toronto in April of this year.

IMG-20120413-00307

Photo taken while on my run – admittedly not the best photo

This run started out right in the heart of downtown Toronto, near Union Station. I gradually made my way through the hustle and bustle of the biggest city in Canada to arrive at the beautiful Lake Shore.

I passed near many of Toronto’s major attractions along my route (CN Tower, Rogers Center, Ontario Place, Air Canada Center, Exhibition Place) and enjoyed miles and miles of uninterrupted pathway along the beautiful waterfront.

20100703 Sugar Beach Promenade

As much as I have been into or through Toronto in my life, this had been the first time I actually had the chance to run while there and I must admit, a run along the Lake Shore was a wonderful way to spend some time in Toronto.

Stay tuned for Day 19 of the Running Advent Calendar tomorrow and check out Days 1 – 17 of my Running Advent Calendar here in case you missed them:

Day 1: Lakeside, PEI, Canada

Day 2: Loch Lomond, Scotland

Day 3: San Francisco, California, USA

Day 4: Gatineau Park, Quebec, Canada

Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA

Day 6: London, England

Day 7: Paris, France

Day 8: Rome, Italy

Day 9: Stanley Park, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Day 10: Boston, MA, USA

Day 11: Great Wall of China

Day 12: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Day 13: Hong Kong

Day 14: Venice, Italy

Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA

Day 16: Sydney, Australia 

Day 17: Victoria, BC, Canada

M.

14 Responses to “Running Advent Calendar – Day 18 – Toronto, ON, Canada”

  1. runstephrun11 December 19, 2012 at 4:21 am #

    Beautiful photos. Keep up the good work! 🙂 I remember going to Toronto on holiday in 1999 when I was about 9! 😀

    • Mary December 19, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

      Thanks Steph! Sounds like you are due for another trip to Toronto soon!

      • runstephrun11 December 20, 2012 at 3:28 am #

        Yeah I’d love to go back, Canada was beautiful. Such lovely people too!

  2. RunToInspire December 19, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    Oh i loved running in Toronto, i got lost and saw a whole other side of the city!

    • Mary December 19, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

      Sometimes that’s the best way to go for a run – get lost and explore! Glad to hear you enjoyed it 🙂

  3. imarunner2012 December 23, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    I was in Toronto in November but it was so cold! I planned to go for a run but between the temps and it getting dark so early I had to use a treadmill. I try to avoid getting lost in the dark in big cities, especially when temps are below freezing! I hear that they have a marathon there. 😉

    • Mary December 24, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      Running in Canadian Winters is not easy! I end up on the treadmill a lot because of bad weather and darkness too

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running Advent Calendar – Day 19 – Dublin, Ireland « Running in Transit - December 19, 2012

    […] Day 18: Toronto, ON, Canada […]

  2. Running Advent Calendar – Day 20 – Barcelona, Spain « Running in Transit - December 20, 2012

    […] Day 18: Toronto, ON, Canada […]

  3. Running Advent Calendar – Day 21 – Rio de Janerio, Brazil « Running in Transit - December 21, 2012

    […] Day 18: Toronto, ON, Canada […]

  4. Running Advent Calendar – Day 22 – Athens, Greece « Running in Transit - December 22, 2012

    […] Day 18: Toronto, ON, Canada […]

  5. Running Advent Calendar – Day 23 – Montreal, QC, Canada « Running in Transit - December 23, 2012

    […] Day 18: Toronto, ON, Canada […]

  6. Running Advent Calendar – Day 24 – Ottawa, ON, Canada « Running in Transit - December 24, 2012

    […] Day 18: Toronto, ON, Canada […]

  7. 2012 Running Year in Review « Running in Transit - January 7, 2013

    […] Toronto, Ontario – Amazing 10km run along the city’s lakeshore (April). […]

Leave a Reply

