Running Advent Calendar – Day 23 – Montreal, QC, Canada

23 Dec

It’s Day 23 of my Running Advent Calendar and it also happens to be my 30th birthday!

30th-sparklers

Today is the 2nd last day that I will explore a running route from around the world as part of my Running Advent Calendar and as it is my birthday, I have selected the city in which I was born – Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

Photo credit: Montreal Visitors Bureau

Photo credit: Montreal Visitors Bureau

I have blogged about running in Montreal before: here  and here, but wanted to include this great city on my list, especially as I am traveling back there today to celebrate  my birthday and Christmas with my family.

The running route I have selected is one on Parc Jean-Drapeau, a grouping of two small islands nestled between the island of Montreal and its suburbs, dubbed “the South Shore.”  St. Helen’s Island and Ile Notre-Dame are flush with visitor attractions and host several major events on their grounds each year.

parc-jean-drapeau_1

What I am most interested in are the running routes that are available within the Parc – 25km of cycling paths and endless forested or gardened trails. Views of the canals, forests and gardens are abundant as are magnificant view of downtown Montreal and the St. Lawrence River.

One thing I am most excited about is that Parc Jean-Drapeau will be hosting Canada’s first Color Run in August 2013. I have read endless blog postings by runners who have taken part in this unique run and I must say, I am dying to run one myself. When I heard The Colour Run was coming to Canada, and to Montreal, I could hardly contain my excitement.

I hope to be able to take part, and if i do, I plan to recruit runners and friends alike to take part in it with me. See details here for the Montreal Color Run.

Montreal_Header_en

Stay tuned the 24th and final day of the Running Advent Calendar tomorrow and check out all of the previous entries of my Running Advent Calendar here in case you missed them:

Day 1: Lakeside, PEI, Canada

Day 2: Loch Lomond, Scotland

Day 3: San Francisco, California, USA

Day 4: Gatineau Park, Quebec, Canada

Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA

Day 6: London, England

Day 7: Paris, France

Day 8: Rome, Italy

Day 9: Stanley Park, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Day 10: Boston, MA, USA

Day 11: Great Wall of China

Day 12: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Day 13: Hong Kong

Day 14: Venice, Italy

Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA

Day 16: Sydney, Australia 

Day 17: Victoria, BC, Canada

Day 18: Toronto, ON, Canada

Day 19: Dublin, Ireland

Day 20: Barcelona, Spain 

Day 21: Rio de Janerio, Brazil

Day 22: Athens, Greece

M.

5 Responses to “Running Advent Calendar – Day 23 – Montreal, QC, Canada”

  1. imarunner2012 December 23, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    Happy Birthday. I’ve been enjoying your series. What a great idea. I know how hard it is to post every day.

    • Mary December 24, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      Thanks for the birthday wishes! Glad you enjoyed my Running Advent Calendar, thanks for reading

  2. Emily December 24, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    Happy birthday! That park looks beautiful.

    • Mary December 27, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      Thanks for the birthday wishes!

  3. Amy Christine December 30, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    First, Happy Birthday!!!

    Second, The Color Run is SO MUCH FUN!!! I did it a couple of weeks ago and it was a blast. Seriously the happiest 5K on the planet. One piece of advice, bring a camera and a zip lock bag. During the color release at the end I was able to snap pictures away without worry about my camera.

Leave a Reply

