Running Advent Calendar – Day 24 – Ottawa, ON, Canada

24 Dec

It has finally arrived – Christmas Eve and Day 24 of my Running Advent Calendar, the final day in which I explore a running route from around the world.

globe.world

Having spent the last 24 days researching, writing and exploring cities from around the world and the running routes I would like to run within each one, I must say I have truly enjoyed this experience. I am looking forward to the day when I can say I have actually run all of these routes!

After discussing running routes from all over the world, my final day of this Running Advent Calendar brings me back to where I now call home – Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Ottawa_600

I have lived in Ottawa for almost 8 years and have run in various places around the city. Without a doubt, my favorite running route is located in the downtown core and offers some magnificent views of the Canadian capital region. Like many of the running routes I have listed over the course of the past 24 days, this route is located adjacent to waterways and takes in several of the major city sites.

This particular route first follows the Rideau Canal up to the Ottawa River and continues behind the Canadian Parliament Buildings. The entire route is on a paved path, free of any car traffic and frequented by many other fellow runners.

A picture from my camera phone during a morning run behind Parliament

A picture from my camera phone during a morning run behind Parliament

I have run this route in the morning, in the afternoon and in the evening and it always leaving me loving the city I live in in more ways that one. I highly recommend this route to anyone visiting Ottawa or anyone living in Ottawa who has yet to see what great pathways this city has to offer.

parl-ott

Thanks to all those who have followed and read this Running Advent Calendar – I hope you enjoyed reading about these 24 running routes as much as I enjoyed writing about them.

If you missed any of the previous entries you can find them all here:

Day 1: Lakeside, PEI, Canada

Day 2: Loch Lomond, Scotland

Day 3: San Francisco, California, USA

Day 4: Gatineau Park, Quebec, Canada

Day 5: Central Park, New York, USA

Day 6: London, England

Day 7: Paris, France

Day 8: Rome, Italy

Day 9: Stanley Park, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Day 10: Boston, MA, USA

Day 11: Great Wall of China

Day 12: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Day 13: Hong Kong

Day 14: Venice, Italy

Day 15: Chicago, IL, USA

Day 16: Sydney, Australia 

Day 17: Victoria, BC, Canada

Day 18: Toronto, ON, Canada

Day 19: Dublin, Ireland

Day 20: Barcelona, Spain 

Day 21: Rio de Janerio, Brazil

Day 22: Athens, Greece

Day 23: Montreal, QC, Canada

Merry Christmas and happy holiday running! I’ll be back with a recap of my New Year’s Eve Resolution Run in early January.

M.

4 Responses to “Running Advent Calendar – Day 24 – Ottawa, ON, Canada”

  1. Rebecca December 24, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    I love the running routes in Ottawa 🙂

    • Mary December 27, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      Ottawa certainly has lots of amazing routes! We are lucky!

  2. imarunner2012 December 26, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Great series. I enjoyed them all. Happy New Year. Andy

    • Mary December 27, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

      Thanks so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

