30 Random Acts of Kindness for my 30th Birthday

29 Dec

I typically stick to running and travel related posts on this blog but last weekend I had the opportunity to do something special for my 30th birthday and wanted to share some details about my day.

30th-sparklers

I spent the entire day performing 30 Random Acts of Kindness in celebration of my birthday! The idea came last year when I read about the Birthday Project and I wanted to do it again for my 30th birthday. Below is a list of all 30 RAOK (Random Acts of Kindness) along with some photos of the day:

1- Provided a kiva loan online to Ann Thakurani Self Help Group in India
2- Donated funds to the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum for new equipment for the Kids on Deck baseball camp and touched base with a friend who works there
3- Donate funds for a newborn checkup in Africa to Plan Canada
4- Posted items to usedottawa.com to give away for free
image
5- Left a Christmas card for the mail carrier
6- Donated old clothes to Value Village donation centre
7- Always gave up the best parking spots to others
image
8- Donated winter clothes to the Snowsuit Fund
9- Prepared and mailed a package to an old friend
image
10- Visited an elderly family members and delivered her a poinsettia plant
11- Donated books to the library
image
12- Held doors open all day for others
13- Doubled normal donation to the Church
14- Forgave someone
15- Visited a good friend and her daughters and brought small gifts for everyone
image
16- Brought some gifts for friend’s family and dog when out for lunch
17- Left a 30% tip at lunch
image
18- Donated food for families in need
19- Said yes to everyone who asked for monetary donations all day
20- Left loonies scattered around Dollarama for other customers to find
image
21- Picked up litter all day
22- Donated wedding dress to the Breast Project, which generated funds for breast cancer research
image
23- Pay for orders in line behind me at Tim Horton’s drive thru
24- Gave drive thru worker a candy cane
25- Was a pleasant driver, happily let cars merge
26- Paid for toll for car in line behind me
image
27- Gave candy cane to toll operator
28- Gave poinsettia plant to parents
29- Gave out scratch tickets to everyone who gave to celebrate my birthday with me
30- Did dishes for my mom
image
 
Also, as a result of my birthday, several other family members performed their own Random Acts of Kindness:
1-My husband contacted all my immediate family members to encourage everyone to perform their own acts of kindness in my honour….and he put up with driving around and taking photos all day of my acts of kindness.
2-My mother-in-law bought 10 stamps to be used for the first ten outgoing letters at the post office
3-My father-in-law paid for the drive thru order at Tim Horton’s behind him
4-One of my aunts donated to the Ottawa Humane Society cat care for one week
5-One of my uncles shoveled his neighbor’s driveway
6-Another aunt and uncle called and brought sweets to many friends and family
 
It was a wonderful day and I’m glad to have positively impacted other people on my birthday.
 
M.
23 Responses to “30 Random Acts of Kindness for my 30th Birthday”

  1. supergenericgirl December 29, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    This is awesome! Happy birthday!

    • Mary December 29, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

      Thank you for the birthday wishes!

  2. Rebecca December 29, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    Really cool idea! Considering I turn 30 in 9 days, maybe I should do this too (although having to work might put a damper on certain things….).

    Hey – you were in my neighbourhood! I live right by Divine Infant (and go there too – on occasion)

    • Mary December 29, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

      You should definitely try it for your birthday! You don’t have to do all 30 in one day…maybe consider one a day for 30 days or something. Took a bit of planning and I could never have gotten it all day if I had to work that day!

      Nice neighbourhood btw, my friend lives around there too 🙂

  3. Emily December 29, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    what a great way to commemorate a big birthday!

    • Mary December 29, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

      Thanks Emily!

  4. wanderingjess December 30, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    You are so awesome!!! I’m planning on doing the 26 Acts of Kindness (inspired from the Newton shooting) over my school break. You gave me lots of good ideas! I already paid for someone’s Starbucks, but this is fantastic! Do you mind if I share your story on Facebook and my blog?

    • Mary December 30, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

      Thanks so much!! I don’t mind at all if you share 🙂 It was a wonderful experience, and I’m happy to have inspired others to do their own random acts of kindness.

  5. Maya December 30, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    Love this idea! Happy birthday. 🙂

    • Mary December 30, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Thank you!!

  6. marob23 December 31, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    What a lovely idea and I wonder do we share a birthday ? I was 51 on Dec 23, so maybe next year I will try and do 52 random acts . Happy Birthday anyway – and I am really enjoying your blog

    • Mary January 1, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

      Thanks for reading! And we certainly do share a birthday – happy belated birthday to you!

      • marob23 January 8, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

        Mary -many thanks and sorry for the delay, I am just getting my head round how to respond to comments etc, am a blog novice !

  7. Heather December 31, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    I used to work at Starbucks (one that had a drive-through) and around Christmastime, very often customers would start a “chain of paying it forward” by leaving $5 to pay for the person behind them. It made me tear up on several occasions; people are so thrilled to get a free latte at 6 a.m.!

    And I love the idea of spreading loonies around the dollar store. Genius. I might steal that one. I already get a gigantic kick out of huge restaurant tips–why not give a little more? 🙂

    • Mary January 1, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

      I stole the loonie idea from somewhere online, so you are more than welcome to steal the idea too!

  8. thiscrazylilthingcalledlife January 4, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    What an incredible way to spend your 30th! I will definitely be doing this on mine. Who knows, it may even help me start looking forward to 30. Okay probably not, but it will certainly help take away the sting!

    • Mary January 4, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

      It will definitely help take the sting away – this day made me so happy, because I was making other people so happy…and doing 30 things in one day took up a lot of time so there wasn’t much time to think about anything else!

  9. Runventure January 11, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    What an awesome idea! Congratulations and happy belated birthday! Very inspirational. 🙂

    • Mary January 11, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

      Thank you! It was a truly wonderful day 🙂

  10. callatini February 11, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    Wonderful list! (And happy belated birthday!) I also did 30 for 30 acts of kindness, though I did mine over the course of the year. It really makes you feel good, doesn’t it? http://howtoplayhouse.com/2013/02/11/30-acts-of-kindness-for-a-30th-birthday/

    • Mary February 11, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

      It felt great! I loved every minute of it. I loved your post – you did some wonderful things 🙂

  11. Arielle June 26, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    This is Awesome! Thank you. I was inspired to do a similar thing. Here is my story on it http://livedeap.blogspot.com/2013/06/26actsofkindness-sharing-stories.html

    And Happy Bday!!!

Leave a Reply

