Resolution Run Race Recap

5 Jan

On December 31st, 2012, I ran my 13th race of the year – a race that finally marked the completion of my “race a month” goal. To be fair, it was more of an “average one race a month” goal since I missed a January race (only having come up with this goal in February) and ran two races a month in both September and October.

I ran the Resolution Run 5km  in London, Ontario, an event put on my the Running Room in various locations across Canada.

Resolution Run

My husband and I were in that area visiting family during the Christmas holidays and I thought it would be a great way to ring in the New Year. I had encouraged a few other friends to sign up too and had my husband and mother-in-law come out to cheer me on, so it made for a fun race with lots of company (…lots compared to what I usually have at races!)

SAM_0194

Pre-race:

London usually doesn’t have much snow, but this year, five days before the race, they got a pretty good snowstorm and the snow was still sticking around by New Year’s Eve. I decided to prepare my race outfit accordingly and settled on all of this:

SAM_0179

The blue jacket was part of the race kit – a Running Room jacket with lots of reflective properties. I typically don’t like to wear my race kit gear for races, but since this was much nicer and more appropriate for a night race than my actual winter running jacket, I decided to wear it for the race…along with 90% of the other runners there.

I had just purchased new winter running tights from the Running Room, and was eager to test them out in a race, along with my other favorite winter running pieces (New Balance touque with ponytail hole, Lululemon Brisk Run gloves, and thermal Nike long sleeve).

SAM_0182

The day prior to the race, I went out for a quick 5km around my mother-in-law’s neighborhood in St. Thomas, Ontario (close to London) to loosen up my legs after not much exercise over the holidays.

Much to my dismay, the sidewalks had not been fully cleared of snow and I could not generate any speed. It felt like I was running in sand! My only consolation was that the race the next day would be much better…or so I thought.

The Race

My “crew” and I got to the race site in plenty of time to check everything out and get settled. When we got to the start line, the 10km racers had just taken off and we noticed that they appeared to be running in almost single file…and on the sidewalks.

SAM_0191

We were certainly surprised to see this, especially as the sidewalks in London did not appear to have been cleared of the snow either. Cars were still driving down the roads we were racing on and there was no sign that any road closures had been made for this race.

We knew then we’d be in for a slow race.

As we approached the start line, we also learnt that there was no official start or timing, so we set out in almost single file as we  crossed the start line.

My friends and I had determined that we’d start together but each run at our own pace. As we crawled through the start line, I quickly wished my friends well and said I wanted to try to speed up…if I could get by anyone on the sidewalk in the snow.

This proved to be a HUGE feat; passing people on the snow covered sidewalks, correction – snow FILLED sidewalks, was nearly impossible.

I did somehow managed to dart past people when there were openings and when we crossed streets and all in all must have passed well over 100 over the course of the 5km.

Despite that however, there were just too many slow downs to generate any sort of steady, fast pace so I finished with a much slower time than I would have liked, but still got to enjoy a winter run with some friends and with the support of family.

AND the $80 Running Room jacket pretty much made up for everything….given that my race entry fee was only $50!

SAM_0203

M.

7 Responses to “Resolution Run Race Recap”

  1. Ramblin' Rick January 6, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Great report…I had no idea the jackets they were giving away were of such high quality. Lucky you!!

    • Mary January 6, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

      Thanks! I’m really happy with it. I’m glad I got a size that fit too – it was only unisex sizing but luckily they had XS available.

  2. Emily January 7, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    Wow, that’s crazy that they didn’t tell you ahead of time that it would be on sidewalks with no road closures. That’s a big deal with or without snow. The jacket looks really nice! Great way to end your 2012.

    • Mary January 7, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      I thought it was pretty crazy too!
      Thanks for the jacket compliments – I love it!

  3. http://iloverunningman.com/ May 28, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

    Thanks for the good writeup. It if truth be told was
    a entertainment account it. Glance complex to more delivered agreeable from you!
    However, how could we keep up a correspondence?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012 Running Year in Review « Running in Transit - January 7, 2013

    […] London, Ontario – The 5km Resolution Run on New Years Eve in a foot of snow (December). […]

  2. St. Patrick’s Day 5km Race Recap | Running in Transit - March 18, 2013

    […] haven’t run a hard race since October. Both my November and December 2012 races were more like “runs” than “races”, so I was looking forward to […]

Leave a Reply

