2013 Running Goals

11 Jan

After writing my 2012 Running Year in Review earlier this week, I have been given some serious thought to what I wanted out of my running in 2013.

With a really busy year ahead of me (mainly due to lot of business travel and long hours at work forecast for 2013), I have decided that marathons, half-marathons and intense training won’t be on tap for me this year.

I would, of course, like most other runners, love to PR in every distance and get a lot of races in like I did in 2012, but I’ve decided not to make that my focus this year.

Bay Breeze

Finishing my first of 13 races in 2012 (It was February and I hadn’t even decided on any 2012 running goals at that point)

In contemplating running goals for 2013, I was inspired by some other running bloggers out there and their unique running goals that did not have performance (time or distance) goals attached to them.

I have thus come up with a list of running goals that I am both proud of and really excited about working towards in 2013.

And so, here goes …my list of 2013 ‘Running in Transit’ Goals:

1) Volunteer at a race: I have never volunteered at a race, but have taken part in so many of them that I know the importance of volunteers at any race. I want to experience a race from the other side, as a volunteer, and contribute my time back to a sport that I have loved so much.

The biggest race in my city is the Ottawa Marathon in May 2013, so I have my eye on volunteering in some way for this great event.

roc-logo

2) Pace someone in a race: I am by no means the fastest runner out there, I certainly understand that, but I hope to be able to use whatever running competencies I do have to help someone else finish a race or finish in a particular goal time. I typically run alone, in races and in training runs, but in 2013, I want to try to run with someone else, helping them to the finish line, encouraging them along the way to meet their own goals.

3) Fundraise for a cause: I hear a lot about people fundraising for particular causes at various races and I think it’s a wonderful thing to do. I have the time and ability to fundraise, so I want to make it a priority this year to invest some energy into generating funds for important causes. In 2013, I have made it my goal to fundraise for two races:

  • Terry Fox Run: I have been running the Terry Fox Run since I was 4 years old and at times have fundraised for it, with funds going toward cancer research, but I have not invested as much time into it as I’d always wanted to.  In 2013, I want to fundraise for this important cause and proudly present my cheque on September 15, 2013 to my local race organizers.

terry fox run

  • True Sport Ottawa Race Weekend Fundraiser: True sport is a social movement that believes in transforming lives and communities through sport – something I very much believe in too. For the first time, they have created a running team for the 2013 Ottawa Race Weekend – a team that will fundraise and bring awareness to the cause. I have already registered for the 10km on Ottawa Race Weekend and want to become a True Sport running team member in 2013 on top of it.

secondary-logo-en

4) Enjoy a fun race: Since having joined the “blogging world” I have had the opportunity to read race reviews for some really exciting sounding races. Each time I read about a fun-themed race, a race with an amazing race kit or fun race perks, I find myself really wanted to take part. I am making it a goal in 2013 to take part in a new, fun race and I have my eye on one in particular: the Montreal Color Run!

Montreal_Header_en

5) Complete destination race: I completed one destination race in 2012 and I loved the experience. In 2013, I want to take advantage of the numerous work trips I might have to complete another. I have not yet decided what that race will be as I await my work travel schedule to be firmed up, but there might be some interesting options out there for me.

Along those lines, I hope to expand on my Running in Transit series with as many different recaps of running in cities around the world as possible this year. The first of 2013 might be Paris as a side trip after a work trip to Russia is in the works for this April!

paris_france_panorama_cardaf-600

With what should be a busy 2013, these five goals will be top of mind for me. That said, I do hope to run a few races (some 5km and 10km), work for PRs as usual, but over and above that, I want these five goals to be the highlight of my running year when I do my 2013 Year in Review 12 months from now.

Stay tuned for updates in 2013 on each of these goals!

M.

30 Responses to “2013 Running Goals”

  1. Kelly @ RaceFor50States January 11, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

    Great goals! Especially volunteering at a race – I think that’s great and something I would equally like to do. Looking forward to more running in transit blogs!

    • Mary January 12, 2013 at 8:08 am #

      Thanks Kelly! I look forward to sharing them!

  2. marob23 January 12, 2013 at 1:55 am #

    Mary – some interesting goals – think the Montreal color sounds a lot of fun, and you should should definitely try and fit in a destination race. Have fun and look forward to hearing how it goes.

    • Mary January 12, 2013 at 8:05 am #

      Thanks! I’m really looking forward to the year ahead 🙂

  3. mattgreenough January 12, 2013 at 3:40 am #

    Great post – certainly inspired me to think beyond my one (albeit daunting) goal of running a marathon for charity this year. Been meaning to volunteer for one of our local runs for a long time, will do so soon. Good luck with the challenges you’ve set.

    • Mary January 12, 2013 at 8:04 am #

      Thank you! Good luck with your marathon goal – I’ll be adding that goal list in the coming years I think

  4. runningatx January 12, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    Love this post! For my first half marathon, two amazing men from my running group paced me for the entire race and I’m so very grateful. I’d love to pace someone in a race too. What a great resolution!

    • Mary January 12, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

      Thanks so much! I can’t wait to do it!

  5. Rebecca@Running.Food.Baby. January 12, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    Yay for volunteering at Ottawa Race weekend!! I think i am planning on volunteering (if I can) at the info booth, and then I will be at a water station for the Sunday. Apparently I am now organizing a crew from my school to man a water station, yay fun!

    Pacing would be cool. I was actually thinking the other day that I would be a good 30 minute 5K pace bunny – I have been pretty consistent with hovering around that time, even without a watch!

    • Mary January 12, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      Maybe I will be volunteering with you! I haven’t decided what I will be doing but am looking forward to it.

      Sounds like you are a perfect 30 min 5km pace bunny! 🙂

  6. Leesa D January 13, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    I love your race goals! Volunteering at a race is an awesome goal.
    I’ve also heard of the Color Runs and thought they would be so much fun! I’ll have too see if there is one close to me.

    • Mary January 13, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

      Thanks Leesa! I’m really excited about the Color Run being within 2 hours of where I live (and in my hometown on top of that!)

  7. tacotoosday January 13, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

    Awesome goals!! I was hoping to volunteer at the Boston Marathon this year…but apparently, it’s very competitive just to be a volunteer!!

    • Mary January 14, 2013 at 9:23 am #

      I bet is it competitive! I should take that as my cue to try to get a volunteer role secured for the Ottawa Marathon soon!

  8. Emily January 14, 2013 at 9:11 am #

    Nice goals! I’m a bit jealous of your business travel, I’d love to see the world a little on someone else’s money. 🙂

    • Mary January 14, 2013 at 9:24 am #

      I am really lucky to get to do what I do – definitely not something I take for granted, so I try to take advantage of little trips whenever I am business traveling.

  9. lehorse January 14, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    Good luck with your goals for 2013 looking forward to seeing how you get on …. Oh and if you have not been before Paris is fantastic 🙂

    • Mary January 14, 2013 at 10:12 am #

      Thanks so much! I will be providing updates on my goals throughout the year! And….my trip to Paris has just been booked! 🙂

  10. Lydia January 15, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    Love your new goals! I had never volunteered at a race until a month ago and I really think it is something all runners should do at some point. A good reminder of what goes one behind the scene to make a good race for us runners! The Color Run is SO MUCH FUN! I think it would be a perfect “fun” event to put on your race calender.

    • Mary January 15, 2013 at 8:52 am #

      Thanks Lydia! It’s a different perspective to have non-performance (time, # races) goals and I must admit, I am really excited about each of these goals – there’s more to running than PRs, times and distances and I plan to make 2013 about everything else that running is!

  11. nimiuh79 January 15, 2013 at 10:25 am #

    Hi Mary,I love your 2013 running goals! They’re so refreshing,definitely making me rethink mine. You’re so right about running being not just about times.

    • Mary January 15, 2013 at 11:33 am #

      Thank you! I enjoyed coming up with non-performance goals and am so pleased that they are encouraging people re-visit their goals as well 🙂

  12. runningracheal January 31, 2013 at 2:43 pm #

    You will absolutely love the color run!! I have a few videos and pictures posted on my blog. There was no clock, no time, and no one seemed to care. Hands down the most exciting 5k I’ve ever done. GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR GOALS!!! 😀

    • Mary January 31, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

      Thanks so much! I am really looking forward to the Color Run! I’ll be sure to take a look at your videos and photos to get me ready for it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Compelling Nature of Race Signups « Running in Transit - February 5, 2013

    […] I mentioned in my 2013 Running Goals I am not working on any performance goals this year, but this still hasn’t limited that […]

  2. Running in Paris – Jardin du Luxembourg | Running in Transit - April 12, 2013

    […] 3 runs in Paris also now allow me to cross off one of my 2013 running goals: Complete a destination run and expand my Running in Transit series of running in different cities around the […]

  3. True Sport Running Team | Running in Transit - April 15, 2013

    […] start 2013, I decided that one of my 2013 Running Goals would be to fundraise for a cause at a […]

  4. Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half-Marathon Registration | Running in Transit - September 10, 2013

    […] I calculated that 12 weeks from my return from Russia was the October 20th Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half Marathon. I wanted my half to be a big race, with a big crowd and lots of excitement and this one seemed to fit the bill. Toronto is also about 5-6 hours from where I am in Ottawa so this would also be a destination race for me – completing one was on my 2013 Running Goals. […]

  5. Running in Milan, Italy | Running in Transit - March 30, 2014

    […] Prague, Kazan (Russia), Venice, Trento (Italy)  – I can safely say I accomplished one of my 2013 Running Goals – destination […]

  6. One Year Later – 2013 Ottawa Race Weekend | Running in Transit - May 20, 2014

    […] and had been raising funds for a charity as part of the True Sport Running Team. It was one of my 2013 Running Goals and I was happy to accomplish it and support a great cause in the […]

Leave a Reply

