Running & Jumbo the Elephant – A Tale of Running in St. Thomas, Ontario

25 Jan

Much of this last week was spent relaxing and hanging out with family in Southern Ontario . My husband and I drove the long 7 hours to St. Thomas from our home in Ottawa for my father-in-law’s retirement party and decided to make a full week-long vacation out of it.

SAM_0069

Luckily, the weather in Southern Ontario was completely different than what we had here in Ottawa, and so I was happy to take advantage of the mild, snow and ice-free conditions to get in a decent run.

SAM_0057

Absolutely no ice or snow!

I planned out a different route than the usual out and back loop that I find myself running while I am there.

This time, I wanted to run to one of  the city’s most significant landmarks, the Jumbo the Elephant Statue.

For those who don’t know (probably most of you), a life size statue of Jumbo, a famous Barnum and Bailey Circus elephant, was erected in St. Thomas on the centennial of the elephant’s death. Why St. Thomas, you ask? Because, in 1885, when the circus came to St. Thomas, Jumbo was hit by a train and killed.

Photo of Jumbo After Being Hit by the Train

You can read all about it here: Story of Jumbo the Elephant

Wanting to make this run memorable, I convinced my husband to come meet me at the Jumbo Statue at a pre-determined time so that I wouldn’t have to loop back (and so that he could take a photo of me to prove I met up with Jumbo that day).

Jumbo

The majority of my run took place along Wellington Street, which actually allowed me to get a great view of some of the older, more historic houses, buildings and churches in St. Thomas.

I was a bit disappointed I didn’t bring my camera with me to get some photos of some of them, but was happy to have captured the most important moment from that day:

SAM_0055

Having now returned to Ottawa, I am looking forward to a time, likely many months from now, when the roads and sidewalks will be as clear of snow and ice as they were that day in St. Thomas. Until then, I shall embrace cold, winter weather running…stay tuned for my post on that coming soon!

M.

2 Responses to “Running & Jumbo the Elephant – A Tale of Running in St. Thomas, Ontario”

  1. Emily January 28, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    That’s a great statue – glad you could capture that moment! And definitely nice to get away from your snow and ice. We don’t have much of that here so I am never quite sure what to do when it hits.

    • Mary January 28, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      Thanks Emily!

Leave a Reply

