The Compelling Nature of Race Signups

5 Feb

I know I am not alone here when I say there is something compelling about signing up for races. I have read enough blogs to know that I am not the only one who gets excited at the possibility of signing up for new races.

sign up

It may be the goal-driven nature we have as runners where signing up for a race provides us with something new to work towards, to look forward to and to build a new training plan around.

As I mentioned in my 2013 Running Goals I am not working on any performance goals this year, but this still hasn’t limited that inner drive I have to sign up for races and to prepare training plans for them.

With one month of 2013 in the books already, I have been looking at some races that would help me complete some of  my 2013 running goals. Having only officially signed up for one of them so far, I am very close to signing up for a few more.

goals

I signed up for Ottawa Race Weekend 10km (May 25) where I will be on the True Sport Running Team and will be knocking off my 2013 running goal of fundraising for a race.  I have some fundraising plans in the works, and hope to share them in the coming months as we get closer to May 25th.

roc-logo

As Race Weekend is just under 4 months away, I wanted to add some other races to the mix, both in preparation for it and because I can’t resist taking part in some of these fun spring races.

I decided against signing up for January or February races, which ended up being a good choice as I have been sick for the better part of the past two weeks, but still want to get some March and April races in if at all possible. Here are just a few of the ones I am considering:

  • St. Patrick’s Day Race (March 16th): Having taken part in this race last year, I really enjoyed it. People wear green and dress up for St. Patrick’s Day, making the run fun and festive. There’s even a prize for best costume. The race is really fast and run along a very scenic route in Ottawa (along the Rideau Canal). Last year, I knew several other people taking part which made it more exciting. The only downfall to the race was that the 10km course was actually longer than 10km, so hopefully that is corrected. This year, I have already prepared my green St. Patrick’s Day outfit so I have little choice but to sign up now!

    St. Patty's Day Run March 17, 2012

    2012 St. Patrick’s Day 10km Race

  • Alive to Strive (April 28th): I ran this race several years ago and loved everything about it. The race kit, the free pancake breakfast afterwards, the door prizes and the great race location. This year, it appears to have been re-located, but to what looks like another beautiful race location in Ottawa, and the pancake breakfast has been changed to a post-race stew. This is a popular tune-up race for the Ottawa Race Weekend making it usually very fast and exciting to be a part of.

alive to strive

After Ottawa Race Weekend at the end of May, I will be extremely busy with work and out of the country for a month on business so have completely written off races for those next few summer months.

Upon my return, I plan to run my most anticipated race of 2013 – the Color Run in Montreal. I haven’t yet officially signed up, but plan to do so while I can still get the early registration fee! The more I read race recaps about the Color Run, the more excited I am to be a part of it.  Anyone want to join me in Montreal on August 17th for the Color Run??

the_color_run_logoRoll

I don’t like getting too far ahead of myself these days, but as I have a self-proclaimed love for race sign-ups, I must admit that I have not limited myself to ONLY exploring races in the first half of 2013.

The second half of 2013 will be an extremely busy one for me, again with work and travel, and so I don’t want to commit to any other races just yet but the options out there for fun races, destination races, and fundraising races are endless….stay tuned for what races I settle on for the second half of 2013!

M.

27 Responses to “The Compelling Nature of Race Signups”

  1. Britta February 5, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    Oh I agree with you 100% about getting super excited about signing up for races! I signed up for 2 half marathons this weekend and I was like a little kid in a candy store! I’ve always wanted to do that colour run – it would be SO much fun! 🙂

    • Mary February 5, 2013 at 9:39 am #

      Kid in a candy store describes it perfectly!! Hope you get to run a Color Run sometime too – they sound amazing!

  2. jupiler1060 February 5, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    I love signing up to races as early as possible! The lower the bib number the better ;P

    • Mary February 5, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      How fun! Early sign ups are good motivators too!

  3. Rebecca February 5, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    I am thinking about doing the St. Patricks Race – like you, I am not signing up for February races – so I’m looking for March/April races as I already have two lined up for May and one for June 🙂

    LOL – as I was typing this, my friend just messaged me asking about the St. Patricks race 😀

    • Mary February 5, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      The St. Patrick’s Day Race is great – we had amazing weather for March last year! I’m not hopefully it’ll be as nice this year.

      Are you doing the Somersault races in May and June?

      • Rebecca February 5, 2013 at 11:53 am #

        yup! I’m doing both the Mother’s Day Run and Emilie’s Run – my third year for both!

  4. Nikki February 5, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    See, I sign up for stuff thinking “this is gonna be AWESOME” and then when the time comes, I’m like, “WTF?” Well, that’s only for Tough Mudder. HA!

    • Mary February 5, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

      I know that feeling too! About 3/4 way through almost any race I am saying the same thing. But for some reason, almost as soon as that race is done, I am itching for my next one.

      • Nikki February 5, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

        That happens to me all the time! I’m making all kinds of deals with God during the race & once I cross the finish line, I’m like, “hey, I need to find another race to do!” Glad to know I’m not alone!

  5. Maya February 5, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    Happy running!

    • Mary February 5, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

      Thanks!

  6. noshingonasphalt February 6, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    Confession, I’ve signed up for 2 more races just this week and I have my eye on a third. It’s a compulsion I tell you. You’re going to have such an amazing time at The Color Run!

    • Mary February 6, 2013 at 11:33 am #

      Awesome! At least it’s a healthy compulsion, right? haha That’s what I think as I consider signing up for so many races!

  7. girlofthehour February 7, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    I just signed up for the Manotick Road Race 10K but you have given some other good suggestions! I have to refrain from hitting that sign up button on all the races I come across! The Colour Run is amazing! I did the one in Ottawa in September and I loved it 🙂

    • Mary February 8, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

      I didn’t even know Ottawa had a Colour Run last year!! How did I miss that?!? Is there one in 2013 too?

      • girlofthehour February 8, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

        It was at the Rideau Carleton Raceway 🙂 I’ve been looking to see if it’s coming again in 2013 but haven’t found anything. If it does I’ll be there!

  8. thewindykitchen February 9, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    I just signed up for my first 10K race this week. It was both exciting and terrifying…hope I have enough time to train 😉 the Chicago color run registration is not open yet, but I hope to be able to sign up as it looks like a lot of fun!

    • Mary February 11, 2013 at 8:57 am #

      How exciting! Good luck in your 10km training!

  9. Miranda February 26, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    Totally agree with you! I just signed up for a half marathon yesterday that is THIS Sunday. I was training for another race, and saw there was still room available, and though: what the hell. Let’s do it. This is how you know you’re hardcore: when you randomly sign up for half marathons! haha

    • Mary February 27, 2013 at 11:46 am #

      That is totally hardcore! Way too go! Good luck this weekend!! Hope they can clear all the snow in time for your race!

  10. odranci.net June 28, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    Fantastic items from you, man. I’ve be mindful your stuff previous to and you are just extremely fantastic. I actually like what you have received right here, certainly like what you are saying and the best way by which you are saying it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can’t wait to learn much more from you.
    This is really a great web site.

  11. Katie April 19, 2014 at 5:00 am #

    Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the web the easiest
    thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get
    annoyed while people think about worries that they just don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having
    side-effects , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

  12. Top10-Wireless-Headphones.Com June 17, 2014 at 10:44 am #

    If some one needs to be updated with most recent technologies after that he must be go to
    see this site and be up to date all the time.

  13. Shelly September 5, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

    Hi there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m
    new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you
    need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help
    would be greatly appreciated!

  14. Www.Asianas.Com September 28, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

    What’s up, its nice post on the topic of media print, we all know media is a impressive
    source of facts.

  15. soleselect.stage.n-framescorp.com October 8, 2014 at 11:06 am #

    Remove the labels customized to reflect on this special person. The lovely
    thing about birthday wishes you, hip, stuck by the time of year.
    Purchase a sturdy cosmetic bag or carry all bag. A bouquet of balloons made especially for 3-12 year-olds.

    There are those who feel and a lot of happiness on his face under his bright yellow.
    Especially for a girl needs good looks. Ingredients can be real’.

Leave a Reply

