Rideau Canal Winter Run

3 Mar

 

 

 

 

I was lucky enough to have a chance to head downtown this weekend and go for a run along the Rideau Canal bikepath in Ottawa . I very  rarely have the chance to do this in the winter as the sun sets before or just as I am finishing work during the week, and I tend to spend most of the weekend close to home (in the suburbs).

Ottawa-20130302-00761

 

With our clocks moving ahead next weekend, I’m looking forward to having a few more hours of daylight after work and maybe getting some more weekday runs in in daylight.

Ottawa-20130302-00758

I thoroughly enjoyed the run – the path was clear and dry for the most part and there were lots of other runners out there enjoying the pathway.

Ottawa-20130302-00760

Check out a few more photos of my run below (I apologize for the poor quality – I only had my cell phone with me and the camera on it clearly is not the greatest).

Ottawa-20130302-00763

Ottawa-20130302-00764Ottawa-20130302-00753

 

 

 

Hoping to get a few more runs in outdoors before my Saint Patrick’s Day 5km in 2 weeks!

M.

9 Responses to “Rideau Canal Winter Run”

  1. Rebecca@RunningFoodBaby March 3, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    Fun!

    At least the path is cleared there – I haven’t ventured out to the Orleans Ottawa River path yet, but I doubt it is bare pavement yet. I should look considering my work backs right on to it 😉

    • Mary March 3, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

      I assumed the Orleans pathway is covered in snow too! Let me know if you have a look – I’d love to know when it’s “run-able”

  2. Britta March 3, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

    Oh man, you just made me miss Ottawa like no tomorrow! I used to run along the canal almost daily!! Glad you were able to enjoy it!

    • Mary March 5, 2013 at 9:44 am #

      But you have the beauty of BC to enjoy now! Not to mention the mild(er) weather!

  3. marob23 March 4, 2013 at 8:33 am #

    Wow – thats a lot of snow ! Always puts things in perspective when i see how deep snow is in Canada .Sounds like a nice run.

    • Mary March 5, 2013 at 9:43 am #

      If you want to see lots of snow you should see pictures of my neighborhood! haha….it’s nice when there’s a pathway cleared of snow here, so I jumped at the chance to run on it

      • marob23 March 5, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

        I quite like running in cold weather, but we do like to talk about the weather a LOT in the UK. Sound s like a nice run anyway. Today was very happy to mange an evening run in daylight – Spring definitely on its way 🙂

  4. thewindykitchen March 4, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    good luck with your 5K! I am running a 10K on March 24th and so far I have been lucky enough to have decent weather on Sundays to go for longer runs…it’s tough to make the transition from 5K to 10K on a treadmill!

    • Mary March 5, 2013 at 9:41 am #

      Good luck on your 10km! Glad you’ve been able to get outside!

Leave a Reply

