Running in Paris – Seine River

8 Apr

I  am here in Paris, France for a short vacation on my own following a recent business trip to Russia.

image

When I first decided to go to Paris, I immediately tried to determine if there was any opportunity to run a race while here, but as my flights from Russia only had me arriving on a Sunday evening there was no chance of that.

As it turns out the Paris Marathon was actually yesterday morning, and I arrived too late in the day to take part or spectate.

But that’s ok because I woke up this morning prepared for a run of my own.

image

Running in Paris was on my bucket list of runs to do. I previously wrote about how I would love to run along the Seine River, and today, I got to do just that!

The weather was perfect for a spring run and the roads were clean and dry. I headed out from my lovely little hotel, and through the Saint Germain des Pres neighbourhood until I reached the sidewalk and paths that run along the Seine.

image

I turned left and ran towards the Eiffel Tower, I had yet to see it, so was excited to get there. There was lots to see along the way, as Paris is not short on beautiful, old buildings, bridges and views.

image

The river view was amazing and I couldn’t help but stop to take lots of pictures along the way.
image

They were doing some construction on this side of the Seine, but the sidewalks were wide and eventually a nice, big sandy pathway opened up that I really enjoyed.
image

I tried to get myself in some pictures along the way, but had to take this one below myself.

image

Finally after probably 5km, I had reached the Eiffel Tower and it was as amazing as they say. This time, I was able to stop some tourists walking by and convinced them to take my picture for me.

image

I, then, returned back to my hotel after running a few kilometres on the other side of the Seine for a change.

My first Paris run was everything I had hoped. It was also the longest run I had done in a while so after a full day also spent on my feet, walking around the city, I am exhausted, but thrilled to be in Paris and can’t seem to get rid of that smile on my face.

My night finished at this restaurant for dinner:

image

I think it’s a sign that I need to return to Paris to run the marathon here one day, what do you think?

M.

8 Responses to “Running in Paris – Seine River”

  1. Rebecca@RunningFoodBaby April 8, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    Such a scenic run!! Glad you had a good vacation!

    • Mary April 9, 2013 at 2:06 am #

      Thanks! I’m having a great time in Paris

  2. imarunner2012 April 9, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

    Good for you. Running is a great way tosee a “new” city! loved the pics.

    • Mary April 11, 2013 at 11:15 am #

      It’s my new favorite way to see a “new” city. More pics and runs in Paris to come!

  3. Ashleigh April 12, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    I loved running in Paris when I studied abroad. The Seine can be a little hectic if there are a lot of tourists out and since not too many people run in Paris. Make sure you check out the bois de Vincennes and the parc de Buttes Chaumont. I highly recommend both for running and exploring! Enjoy your trip 🙂

    • Mary April 12, 2013 at 11:41 am #

      Thanks for the tips Ashleigh! I actually just left, but definitely plan to return and will keep those places in mind!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running in Paris – Jardin du Luxembourg | Running in Transit - April 12, 2013

    […] 3 runs in Paris (Seine River Run, Jardins des Tuileries/Champs Elysees Run) also now allow me to cross off one of my 2013 running […]

  2. Running in Milan, Italy | Running in Transit - March 30, 2014

    […] a fantastic year of running in different cities around the world – Paris, Vienna, Prague, Kazan (Russia), Venice, Trento (Italy)  – I can safely say I accomplished one of […]

Leave a Reply

