Running in Paris – Jardins des Tuileries/Champs Elysees

11 Apr

One my second day in Paris, I woke up to some rain but was determined not to miss out on any opportunity to run while in this great city. My plan was to run from my hotel, past the Louvre, through the Jardins des Tuileries and up the Champs Elysees to the Arc de Triomphe.

I didn’t quite make it all that way as I got started a little late and had lots I wanted to see on my last full day in Paris and was also sufficiently wet from the rain before even my half way point.

DSCN2445

From my hotel, I first crossed the lovely Ponts des arts pictured above. This bridge is unique because it is covered with thousands of padlocks, named love-locks. Couples traveling to this romantic city attach their love-lock to the bridge, and throw the key into the river below, displayed their everlasting love.

DSCN2440

I hope to return to Paris (with my husband in tow) and attach our own lovelock one day. For now, I settled with having my photo taken on the bridge.

DSCN2467

The rain showers were on and off throughout my run, but all I could think of was how a little rain couldn’t stop me being out enjoying this city. I passed the Louvre next, which I had visited the day before.

DSCN2422

Taking a left hand turn into the Jardins des Tuileries, I had to dodge some puddles along most of the way. The good thing about the showers and the fact that it was early in the morning was that I did not have to deal with too many people. If I had waited until later in the day, the streets and gardens would have been packed with tourists moving around.

DSCN2461

The Jardins des Tuileries was a beautiful park/garden located between the Louvre and Place de la Concorde. It is filled it sculptures, fontains and museums. There was no shortage of things to look at as I ran.

DSCN2447

My photos certainly do not do it, or any other part of Paris, justice.

As I approached the end of the Jardins des Tuileries, I could see the tall Obelisk in the center of Place do la Concorde….surrounded by one of the biggest roundabouts I had ever seen, and consequently, completely filled with cars.

DSCN2451

Crossing it took some time, and so I remained in the center for a little bit. Later that day, on my bus tour, I learned that Place de la Concorde used to be used as the location for beheadings. Marie Antoinette and King Louis XVI were both beheaded there!

DSCN2454

Finally crossing the roundabout, and getting to the other side, I had entered the Champs Elysees. I had planned to run the entire length but decided to only run a portion and visit the rest later on in the day.

DSCN2457

It was a beautifully tree lined road with the Arc de Triomphe at the end.

And after that wonderful sight, I turned around and ran back to my hotel, ready to start my second day of Paris sightseeing!

In case, you were wondering from my photos – yes, I am wearing the same running outfit I was wearing the previous day (and will have the same one on for my third run in Paris as well). I tried to pack really light (one carry on for a 10 day trip) and figured if I was going to sweat in it anyway, what was the difference!

DSCN2459

Packing the right running gear for the corresponding weather more than a week in advance was difficult, but I lucked out and was perfectly dressed for the weather.

The black hat I am wearing is one I received for free while I was on a work trip in Russia just before coming to Paris. It certainly doesn’t fit me properly but as I didn’t bring any other hats with me on this trip, I threw it on to keep the rain out of my face.

Stay tuned for my third and final Running in Transit – Paris run recap!

M.

9 Responses to “Running in Paris – Jardins des Tuileries/Champs Elysees”

  1. thewindykitchen April 11, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    I am glad you got to cross this run off your bucket list. I also try to travel with only one carry on, but the good thing about running clothes is that you can probably rinse them off in the evening and they will be dry by morning 😉

    • Mary April 11, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

      Exactly! Easier way to travel for sure

  2. Britta April 11, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    Such beautiful pictures! I love running through new cities or unfamiliar cities! You always see and notice so so so much 🙂 ahh, Paris. I have been once and CANNOT WAIT to go back! And I would 100% be wearing the same clothes for running too – who cares right?!

    • Mary April 12, 2013 at 8:59 am #

      Thanks Britta! I already cannot wait to go back to Paris too!

  3. marob23 April 12, 2013 at 3:05 am #

    Mary – how great to run in Paris , it is definitely on my to do list. Running in different places is such a good way to see the city and makes the cafe treats afterwards taste even better.Your pictures are good too – do you use your iPhone ?

    • Mary April 12, 2013 at 9:00 am #

      Thanks! I actually carried a small camera with me on my run so that I could take photos. I was small enough to tuck into my gloves so it stayed dry and wasn’t too inconvenient to bring with me.

  4. wanderingjess April 15, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

    So awesome! I’m a total sap and love Paris. Enjoyed reading this so much!

    • Mary April 17, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      Thanks! I can’t wait to go back!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running in Paris – Jardin du Luxembourg | Running in Transit - April 12, 2013

    […] 3 runs in Paris (Seine River Run, Jardins des Tuileries/Champs Elysees Run) also now allow me to cross off one of my 2013 running goals: Complete a destination run and expand […]

Leave a Reply

