Running in Paris – Jardin du Luxembourg

12 Apr

On my third and final morning in Paris, I was certain I would wake up to more rain and although I was tired from a busy week, I was set on getting in that third run in Paris – this time at the Jardin du Luxembourg.

DSCN2547

To my surprise, when I woke up, the rain hadn’t started, so I hustled to get myself up and out the door.

The Jardin du Luxembourg was about 400m from my hotel and I had saved it for my last few hours in Paris. I knew I could see and enjoy more of it if I did it on the run, and my last morning there was the perfect opportunity.

I had to leave for the airport around 10am, so didn’t have a chance to venture too far from my hotel for any more Paris sightseeing, so visiting the Jardin du Luxembourg then was perfect for me.

Once I got into the Jardin, I realized that this is where all the runners were – the place was fairly busy with early morning walkers and runners and I felt right at home.

DSCN2549

The Jardin du Luxembourg was large; it had many sculptures and fountains like many of the other parks and gardens in Paris.

DSCN2546

A former palace, now the French Senate, was also located within the Jardin and it was a beautiful, old building like most others in Paris.

DSCN2551

I ran around the Jardin for probably about 5km with the rain holding off the entire time. It was shorter than my runs the previous two days, and my legs were happy about that (considering I had also walked for almost the entire last 2 days!)

I could just tell how beautiful this park would look in the spring or summer. Not everything had bloomed when I was there, yet it still had lush greenery and a sense of beauty.

DSCN2550

I’d highly recommend a run through the Jardin du Luxembourg to anyone traveling to Paris.

I only wish I could have stayed longer – there was so much to see and do (and so many places to run!)

DSCN2552

These 3 runs in Paris (Seine River Run, Jardins des Tuileries/Champs Elysees Run) also now allow me to cross off one of my 2013 running goals: Complete a destination run and expand my Running in Transit series of running in different cities around the world.

Stay tuned for an update on some of my other 2013 running goals to come within the next few days!

M.

8 Responses to “Running in Paris – Jardin du Luxembourg”

  1. Rebecca@Running.Food.Baby. April 12, 2013 at 10:26 am #

    Beautiful pictures!!!

    • Mary April 12, 2013 at 10:27 am #

      Thank you!! My photos barely do it justice – you need to see it all in person!

  2. K April 12, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    Oh, that was one of my favorite places to run when I lived there! Your pics brought back memories. 🙂

    • Mary April 12, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      Glad to have brought back some memories for you! I found it a wonderful place to run!

  3. dawninwonderland April 12, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    I love the Jardin du Luxembourg, it’s so beautiful and i’d love to go back! Just around the corner is the world’s most amazing bakery so if i was running there i’m pretty certain I wouldn’t be able to stop myself veering off course for an apple pastry!

    • Mary April 12, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      I stopped for a croissant and hot chocolate after each of my runs so I completely understand! haha

  4. zoeforman April 13, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    I loved running here when in Paris for work. Even more spectacular in sunshine. Louvre also a fav run and along Seine riverbanks.

    • Mary April 13, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

      I wish I could go back and run there every day – it was wonderful!

Leave a Reply

