Day Before Mother’s Day 5km Race Recap

13 May

Saturday I ran my second race of the year – the “Day Before Mother’s Day 5km.” I didn’t sign up for this race until a couple weeks ago when a few friends asked if I was running it, and am happy that I did.

It was a good to get a race in before my 10km race on May 25th and I ended up having a great time (and even coming home with some prizes!)

Pre-Race

Saturday started out rainy but after intensely studying the weather radar and changing my race outfit a couple time, I am happy to report, race conditions were pretty good. Cloudy and a little windy but luckily the rain had stopped. The race was held on a parkway so it was pretty dry by the time the race began.

SAM_0250

Just before my race started was the kids 1km. One of my good friends had her 2 daughters run the race so I gave them a quick wave and headed up as close to the front of the start line as I could.

SAM_0253

The race start was crowded as all the 3km, 5km, 10km and Half Marathon runners were starting together, but after figuring out what races the different colour bibs referred to, I knew who would be running in my race.

SAM_0252

Race

As expected, the first few hundred meters of the race was very crowded so finding a comfortable place took some time. My husband was waiting a few hundred meters from the start line to take some photos but because of the crowds, didn’t get much of a photo of me – more of just the side of my head (white hat, blue shirt).

SAM_0258

And then a photo after I had run by…

SAM_0259

I started out the race at a good pace and felt confident I could maintain it. I knew this was a small race, and I set my sights at winning an age group award or maybe even a gender placing award.

After the first kilometer, there were still a lot of runners and I couldn’t tell who was part of the 3km, 5km, 10km or Half. Once we reached the first turnaround point at 1.5km (for the 3km race), what seemed like most of the runners turned around.

I couldn’t see far enough ahead to know where I stood amongst the competition so I tried to settle into a groove until our 2.5km turn around point.

The scenery was nice as it was along the Ottawa River and although it wasn’t a sunny day, I still enjoyed that part of the route.

SAM_0254

At our turn around point, I was able to count how many women were ahead of me and how many were in what looked like my age group. At smaller races like this, I like to know where I stand and get extra motivation from trying to catch those ahead of me.

To my pleasant surprise, I only counted 1 female ahead of me in the 5km race, and she was well ahead. Happy about that, I felt if I maintained my pace, I could hold on to second place and maybe even a first in my age group (wasn’t quite sure how old the female ahead of me was).

When I got around the turn around point, I heard someone yell to me that I was their pace bunny…I didn’t know who they were, but it put a smile on my face that someone would be using me as a pace bunny (later I found out someone I did know had told that person my pace and that she wanted to use me as her pacer).

Also, after the turnaround point I saw Rebecca from Running.Food.Baby who was also running the 5km – gave a quick wave and hello as we passed each other.

The final 2.5km of the race naturally was tougher than the first half of the race, and with a bit of an added headwind, my pace slowed slightly.

SAM_0262

With the 1st place woman out of sight and no other females close behind me, I tried to just keep up my pace until the finish.

SAM_0263

Spotting my husband with only a few hundred meters to go gave me an added push and I smiled for the camera as I ran by.

SAM_0264

I finished the race in 23:39. Not a personal best time but with not as much training as I would have liked, I am definitely pleased with it.

Post-Race

After the race, I met up with some friends, including Rebecca from Running.Food.Baby who had a great race and even scored a PR!

SAM_0265

Curious to see if a prize was given out for the Top 3 Females as had been done in previous races, I headed out in search of the results tent. To my surprise, the results list didn’t have me listed at all, nor did it have the 1st place female either. When I heard all the chatter around the tent, I realized, it was a slightly bigger problem than just me not being on the results list.

After a bit of a wait trying to get things figured out, an updated results list appeared and I was finally listed with these finishing places:

Age group: 1/9
Female: 2/101
Overall: 18/176

SAM_0268

There was still a problem, my finish time was off by about a minute, but again, there was lots of chatter and many others seemed to notice that same problem. The good news is that the timing company finally resolved everything and have updated my time to one that is much closer to my Garmin finish time: 23:39.

Needless to say, I was thrilled to have placed so well and to have gone home with some prize loot (Brooks backpack for my 2nd female overall).

SAM_0266

M.

9 Responses to “Day Before Mother’s Day 5km Race Recap”

  1. Rebecca@Running.Food.Baby. May 13, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    Congrats!!! I’m wondering if it was my friend who yelled that – she definitely noticed you as she told me later on in the afternoon that you were an amazing runner 😉

    It was nice to run a slightly smaller race this time – the Ottawa 10K is going to be absolutely nuts!

    • Mary May 13, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      Thanks!!
      The Ottawa 10km will be so packed, I’ll be happy to even finish in the top 150 women! haha

  2. afastpacedlife May 13, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    Oooh, nice prize! Congrats!

    • Mary May 13, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      Thanks so much!

  3. thewindykitchen May 13, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    Congrats!!! love the many ribbons on your medal 🙂

    • Mary May 13, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

      Thanks! It’s a cool way to give out top finisher awards – ribbons/lanyards to add to your finishers medal.

  4. Miranda May 13, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    Congrats! Love all your race prizes!

    • Mary May 13, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      Thanks! Prizes are always fun 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shoppers Run for Women 5km Race Recap | Running in Transit - May 12, 2014

    […] time but still one to be proud of for sure. My last 5km race was exactly one year ago today – recap here – and today I finished 12 seconds faster than I did last year, so that’s good […]

Leave a Reply

