Running in Vienna – Prater

5 Aug

After spending a wonderful and extremely busy month in Russia, I had the opportunity to travel to Vienna, Austria for some rest and relaxation and some sightseeing. Vienna seemed like a fantastic city to explore on a tight timeline and so we jam packed as much as we could into less than 48 hours.

IMG_2283

I managed to squeeze in two runs while in Vienna and managed to see unique parts of the city I would have otherwise not seen.

DSCN0257

The first morning after we arrived, I woke up early to run in Prater. Our hotel was less than 1km from this gorgeous public park and I felt it was somewhere I should definitely be visiting, seeing as I was so close.

DSCN0256

There was certainly lots to see within this park, and this was definitely the place where other morning runners and cyclists gathered for their workouts. It was packed with others working out, and I loved being able to be a part of it.

DSCN0264

At one point, I noticed from across the road a field and small stadium and being in Central Europe, I had an inkling that it may be a field hockey field. I scooted across the road and wandering into the area and to my delight (as a former field hockey player) – it was indeed a field hockey field (or a hockey pitch as it is known in the rest of the world).

DSCN0267

I snapped a few photos because it was something you would never seen in Canada, as field hockey, unfortunately, does not have the same popularity and participation numbers as it does in the rest of the world.

DSCN0275

Continuing on with my run, I made my way to a quieter part of the park and followed some dirt trails. There, I encountered some dog walkers, so I smiled and tried my best “Guten Morgen!” with them. They smiled and replied back so it must have been okay!

DSCN0273

Before exiting Prater, I ran through the theme/amusement park portion – with its ferris wheels, rides, food stands, etc. There is something a little eerie about an empty amusement park, but it was interesting to see nonetheless.

DSCN0282

DSCN0287

Later in the day, I got to experience Prater again but not on the run. The morning running crowd and deserted amusement park had changed  – it was full of families, noise and excitement of a theme park. Always interesting to see the two different sides of the exact same area.

Stay tuned for the recap of my second run in Vienna where I found my way to the Danube for a beautiful run along the water,

M.

8 Responses to “Running in Vienna – Prater”

  1. Theresa August 5, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    man this looks awesome!

    • Mary August 5, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      Thanks! It was awesome to be there!

  2. Rebecca@Running.Food.Baby. August 5, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    Cool!

    I went to Vienna a long time ago when I was in high school – I went on that Ferris Wheel. There was some twirly ride right next to it that made half my class sick – good times 🙂

    • Mary August 5, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

      Yikes!
      I didn’t make it on any of the rides, not enough time, but it looked pretty awesome.

  3. Still a Runner August 13, 2013 at 6:16 am #

    Bravo. I love getting out for a morning run in a new city.

  4. Martha September 6, 2013 at 4:15 am #

    “Always interesting to see the two different sides of the exact same area.”
    I agree with you but I much prefer Prater at night it looks marvelous with all these lights

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running in Vienna – Danube River | Running in Transit - September 2, 2013

    […] I was there. The first run was in Prater, an amazing park within the city – read about it here. The second run was along the Danube River, see my recap of that run […]

  2. Running in Milan, Italy | Running in Transit - March 30, 2014

    […] a fantastic year of running in different cities around the world – Paris, Vienna, Prague, Kazan (Russia), Venice, Trento (Italy)  – I can safely say I accomplished one of my 2013 […]

Leave a Reply

