Running in Vienna – Danube River

2 Sep

Back in July, I traveled to Vienna, Austria after almost a month in Russia for work. I managed to squeeze in some runs in the beautiful city of Vienna while I was there. The first run was in Prater, an amazing park within the city – read about it here. The second run was along the Danube River, see my recap of that run below…

DSCN0377

It was on my second morning in Vienna that I decided to be a little bit more adventurous and seek out one of my favorite places to run in any new city – along the water!

I knew the Danube River was fairly close to my hotel and I knew the general direction it was in, so I headed out first thing in the morning to try my luck at finding it.

As I jostled between pedestrians walking to work and cyclists on the move, I found a comfortable spot along a bike path that seemed to be the right direction.

DSCN0368

Winding down a few streets towards the water, I stumbled upon an impressive building – it looked to me like a castle, but then I remembered I was in Vienna and every building looked equally as impressive.

DSCN0370

I snapped the shot above while waiting for the traffic light to change and was then on my way with the water in sight.

I climbed a few stairs and took in the beauty of the water on a hot, sunny day – I had reached the Danube!

DSCN0371

…without getting lost!

DSCN0373

I was lucky there was a wide path along the River, so proceeded to run along it for a bit.

Docked along the river were many small cruise ships, presumably traveling along the Danube River through the many countries it winds through.

DSCN0375

At a certain point, I knew I had to find my way back to my hotel, so hopped on a bike path nearby in the hopes that I could find my way back to my hotel from there.

DSCN0378

Not overly familiar with Vienna, its streets or neighborhoods, I was confident that I could find a landmark I would recognize or the street name of my hotel without too much trouble. My sense of direction is pretty sharp but as I winded my way back towards where I thought my hotel was, it was the first time on my run that I started to doubt myself.

Confident enough that I was headed in the right direction, I pushed on without looking back and to my delight, I soon saw the big Wiener Riesenrad (giant ferris wheel) in the distance – knowing my hotel was only a few hundred meters from there.

DSCN0287

A sprint for the final stretch, and I made it back to my hotel after the most adventurous run I’ve had in a new city in a while.

DSCN0379

Stay tuned for recaps of some of the many Canadian cities I have visited and run in the past month while on vacation – Lakeside, PEI, Sherbrooke, QC, Whistler, BC, and Vancouver, BC!

M.

2 Responses to “Running in Vienna – Danube River”

  1. Trails and Ultras September 2, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    How exciting! It looks lovely 🙂

    • Mary September 2, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

      Thank you! It was!

Leave a Reply

