MEC Ottawa 10km Race Recap

9 Sep

On a whim Friday I decided to sign up for the MEC Ottawa 10km Race that was held this Sunday, September 8th. I wanted to get a 10km race in in sufficient time before I run my half marathon in October (another post to come about what race that is!) and as I will be out of town for most of the weekends leading up to the half, I knew this was likely my last weekend to get a 10km race in.

I had missed the online registration deadline so had to go into the MEC store to sign up. It was a smooth sign up process as it was only a small race. I got an awesome drawstring bag, a magazine and 10% in store so I purchase a lovely little 4 pack of NUUN.

Mec Race 9135

Sunday morning I had to be up early so was fairly tired. I had a bad case of pre-race jitters but managed to eat half a bagel and a small pack of Welches before the race so I wasn’t running on empty.

It was a bit of a chilly morning but with the temperature above 10c I knew I could still pull off running in shorts and maintain my comfort and warmth. I was cold pre-race but once it got going, I was the perfect temperature with a long sleeve shirt on top.

The field for the 10km was really small, only 37 runners. There was also a 5km and a 15km race going on with a total of about 175 runners out that day.

Once the race started I immediately scoped out my competition. I had a race plan and I knew how I wanted to pace myself but I also knew if there was a chance I could place well I would push myself to get there. When we started I noticed right away there were only 3 women ahead of me, so I made it my mission to at minimum place in the top 3.

The first kilometer people always so go out too hard. I try to hold myself back and maintain my pace and it has typically paid off with negative splits on race day.

I started out by passing the first female almost right away and set my sights on the 2nd place female ahead of me. She wasn’t far and after about 2km I passed her. With that I only had one female ahead of me for the rest of the race – I timed that she was about 30 second ahead of me so I wasn’t sure I could actually reach her.

Nevertheless, I plugged on sticking fairly close to my race plan and passed a few guys through kilometers 3-5. The course was a 5km loop which we had to run twice. At the end of the first loop, I noticed that the female ahead of me was only about 20-25 seconds away, and I then realized I was gaining on her and might actually be able to catch her in the second half of the race.

As I began kilometer 6, she got closer and closer. I struggled with the thought of whether or not to pass her now or to hang back and pass her at the end thinking I would have the upper hand knowing exactly where she was ahead of me.

I then thought otherwise and decided I was there to run my own race regardless of what anyone else ran so I maintained my pace and zipped by her somewhere between kilometer 6 and 7. I didn’t see her again until she finished 1:25 behind me. I was glad I trusted my instincts and ran my own race at that point!

The final few kilometers of the race were my fastest of the entire 10km. I managed to pass 2 males and have a strong sprint to the finish line (which was around 300m of a track – making for a pretty cool finishing experience!) I finished in an official time 48:18.

It was a small race so not much fanfare or cheering at the finish. I didn’t have anyone there watching me so I just smiled to myself after a well-run race and wondered why I had such nerves in the first place!

This was the final race in the MEC race series this year, but I certainly hope to run more of them in 2014 – they were inexpensive to participate in, the parking was awesome because there was not a huge crowd, there were no bathroom lineups, the post-race food was great (cliff bars, bananas, oranges) and there were door prizes to be won!

Stayed tuned for an update on my fall running plans, which include a major half-marathon update!

M.

7 Responses to “MEC Ottawa 10km Race Recap”

  1. MaybeMarathoner September 9, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    Great time! Way to go!

    • Mary September 9, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      Thanks!

  2. Britta September 9, 2013 at 10:51 am #

    Wahoo!! That’s awesome! I’m so glad you have fun! I work at MEC at the Victoria, BC store and we had a race yesterday too! I worked it and it was so much fun! We had about 50 people in our 10k, 5k, and half marathon. I think I’m gonna run the next race, we still have 2 more races before Christmas time 🙂 Way to go with such a great finish!

    • Mary September 9, 2013 at 11:01 am #

      Thanks Brita! I wish I had been around more this summer to take part in some of the other MEC races, but I’m hoping to get in a few in in 2014. Good luck in your races!!

  3. Trails and Ultras September 9, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    Fantastic result, well done!

    • Mary September 9, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

      Thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half-Marathon Registration | Running in Transit - September 10, 2013

    […] I alluded to in my 10km race recap on September 8th, I am now training for a half-marathon. I made the decision earlier this summer […]

Leave a Reply

