Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half-Marathon Registration

10 Sep

As I alluded to in my 10km race recap on September 8th, I am now training for a half-marathon. I made the decision earlier this summer that it was the right time for me to complete another half-marathon and I had been toying with the idea of a late October race.

Being out of the country for a month from June 26 – July 25 and being swamped with work for the few months before that, I knew a half marathon any earlier than late October was out of the question if I wanted to train and be prepared to run it well, so early in the summer I started looking into my options.

I haven’t run a half marathon since 2010 for a variety of reasons. After watching a few big half marathons regretfully pass me by, I decided that I need to forget about everything else going on and sign up for one before any more could pass me by.

stwmlogo_print

I calculated that 12 weeks from my return from Russia was the October 20th Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half Marathon. I wanted my half to be a big race, with a big crowd and lots of excitement and this one seemed to fit the bill. Toronto is also about 5-6 hours from where I am in Ottawa so this would also be a destination race for me – completing one was on my 2013 Running Goals.

stwm

I spent some of my time in Russia this summer debating whether or not to sign up, and came home with the decision unresolved.

It took my husband telling me the following that utlimately lead me to sign up the very next day: “You are in good enough shape to run a half-marathon right now if you want to, just think of the next 12 weeks as bonus to get you finishing it even faster!”)

He was right, so I went online and signed up before the price jumped or the race sold out.

Once that part was done, I got into one of my favorite parts of any race preparation – building the training program. As a very detailed oriented and organized person, I must admit that creating a training program for any race, big or small, excites me, so I spent some of the next day perfecting mine.

I am by no means a running coach but I feel like I know what works well for me and what is unrealistic. I build my training plan with all of this in mind and am now half way though it!

stwmmap13_lg

True to my blog’s name and origin, I have already taken my training to many different cities – Montreal, QC, Lakeside, PEI, Sherbrooke, QC, Whistler, BC and Vancouver, BC. Photos of many of these runs are on my twitter account (@marymac82) but I plan to post reviews of each of these training runs shortly as well.

Here’s a sneak peek….from a run in Vancouver, BC.

SAM_0493

And, it doesn’t stop there, stay tuned for my next 6 weeks of training, where I travel internationally and take my training to Italy – Venice, Milan, & Trento!

M.

3 Responses to “Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half-Marathon Registration”

  1. Rebecca@Running.Food.Baby. September 10, 2013 at 8:34 am #

    Exciting!!

    I have run only a few races in Toronto despite being from there! Many of my Toronto friends run STWM – including two who BQ’d there!

    • Mary September 10, 2013 at 9:18 am #

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to it…hoping it’s as flat and fast as they promise!

  2. Adrurfescode October 14, 2013 at 3:57 am #

    кино

Leave a Reply

