Running in Prince Edward Island

16 Sep

My parents have a cottage in Prince Edward Island that they drive to and from Montreal every summer. My Dad is from PEI originally and as kids we would spend our entire summers there.

IMG_1715

As we got older, and now, have our own lives, careers and families, I haven’t been able to get down there as much.

Up until mid-August, I hadn’t made it to PEI at all this year, nor had I had it in my plans to go. That is until my mom phoned me on my first morning of vacation to let me know that my Dad had a detached retina and had to get back to Montreal as soon as possible.

Since my mom doesn’t drive much, I immediately booked a flight to PEI for later that day, packed up my bags and headed to PEI for what would be my shortest trip on the Island on record!

IMG_1738

My adorable parents

I spent a total of 12 hours there (with about 6-7 of them spent sleeping) before driving my parents 14 hours straight back to Montreal. But in that short time, I did manage one AMAZING run on the beach that I spend most of my childhood summer’s on….Lakeside Beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world!

IMG_1742

I woke up early to a bright, sunny day. Temperature was perfect – not too hot, not too cold. I had thrown some running clothes in my bag at the last second before I left my house in Ottawa, and I was so happy I made that decision!

IMG_1717

The beach is probably under 500m from my parent’s cottage, so I was running on sand in no time.

IMG_1719

Not many people were on the beach at this time, which made it nice for running. Those that were there gave the typical friendly wave or hello and carried on with their morning.

IMG_1728

I couldn’t believe I was actually there and enjoying such a wonderful, calm serene morning on the beach. Less than 24 hours before I was in Ottawa with no plans to even leave the house that day!

IMG_1721

I didn’t run for very long as I knew I had a long day ahead of me, but I managed just enough time to fall in love with running on Lakeside beach all over again and develop a longing to go back and do it every day!

IMG_1735

M.

5 Responses to “Running in Prince Edward Island”

  1. afastpacedlife September 16, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    Hope your father gets better soon.

    I’ve always wanted to go to PEI (big Anne of Green Gables fan).

    • Mary September 16, 2013 at 11:03 am #

      It’s beautiful – you should go!!

  2. imarunner2012 September 17, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

    One of my ancestors moved to PEI during the American Revolution. He was a British loyalist and in the army. so when New York fell, they had to go!
    Hope your father is doing well.

    • Mary September 18, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

      Very cool about your ancestors moving to PEI! They made a good choice – it’s a wonderful spot.

      And my Dad is still on the mend – thanks for asking 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running in Canada | Running in Transit - May 3, 2014

    […] also ran in Prince Edward Island this summer and blogged about it here. I’ve mentioned it on the blog before but this is probably one of my favorite places in […]

Leave a Reply

