Running in Venice, Italy

16 Mar

A few months back while training for the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half-Marathon, I was fortunate enough to take my running to various cities across Canada and around the world while traveling for business and pleasure.

Unfortunately, I was too busy at that time to post about those runs so thought I would take the time to recap some of them now.

One of my favorite runs was in Venice, Italy. I stayed there for a couple days and got two wonderful runs in.

DSCN0617

Before I left Canada, I did my usual pre-trip research on where to run in the city I was headed to, and overwhelmingly I found that people said running in Venice was tough, too tough.

I thought I would challenge that and so I planned my runs with a few things in mind:

1) Get up as early as possible before the crowds start:

DSCN0582

I was in Venice at the end of September; the weather was hot and sunny and the crowds during the day were plentiful. There would have been no way I could have run if I did it after 8am, so I was up early and beat the crowds.

DSCN0608

2) Get to know the general route beforehand:

DSCN0685

I didn’t want to run with a map, nor did I want to completely get lost and waste my entire morning trying to find my way back to my hotel so the day before I walked around the area until I got the lay of the land…the main streets, canals and landmarks.

I didn’t plan my runs in detail so was able to explore as I ran, but still had enough of a good sense of direction to get me back to my hotel in time for breakfast.

DSCN0575

3) Follow other runners:

DSCN0592

I did this during certain parts of both runs and it was great. The runners I followed appeared to know where they were going and the best routes to take.

There was an added challenge in following them – trying not to stay too close that I looked like I was following them, but also trying to keep up with them through the tiny alleys of Venice!

DSCN0628

Even though I beat the crowds, running in Venice was certainly a challenge. The number of stairs I climbed was incredible. I’m not used to running stairs so it was a good workout for me. I made myself use the stairs and not any of the ramps.

DSCN0622

Although I can’t recap the exact route I took because it involved a million small roads and alleyways, I ran by many of the sites of Venice:

The Grand Canal
DSCN0533

Piazza San Marco
DSCN0604

Rialto Bridge
DSCN0656

Running in Venice was a fantastic running experience.  I’d do it again in a heartbeat…but for now I can only reminisce…

M.

3 Responses to “Running in Venice, Italy”

  1. HopeAgainstHopeRunning March 16, 2014 at 10:18 pm #

    I was lucky enough to travel to Amsterdam for business earlier this month and I was too chicken to run outdoors there since I didn’t have the lay of the land. Some smart planning probably could’ve helped me have an unforgettable adventure! Thanks for sharing your inspiring pictures. Running really is a great way to get to know a city.

    • Mary March 16, 2014 at 10:27 pm #

      I highly recommend running through a new city. Great way to enjoy a new place and a motivating way to get a work out in. Hope you get another chance to experience it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running in Milan, Italy | Running in Transit - March 30, 2014

    […] year of running in different cities around the world – Paris, Vienna, Prague, Kazan (Russia), Venice, Trento (Italy)  – I can safely say I accomplished one of my 2013 Running Goals – destination […]

Leave a Reply

