Running in Trento, Italy

21 Mar

Following my lovely trip to Venice, Italy last September I headed north to Trento, Italy where I spent a few days for work.

DSCN1245

As was the case in Venice, the weather was lovely and I was in the middle of my half-marathon training so heading out for a run was a must. In fact, I was scheduled to run one of the longest runs of my training cycle while I was there so was happy when I had an entire afternoon off from work related meetings and functions.

All dressed up for a work reception!

All dressed up for a work reception!

Trento is located on the Adige River and surrounded by mountains.

DSCN1370

And when I say mountains, just a bit further north were the Dolomites mountains – a spectacular site that I’m glad I had the chance to see. Those were impressive mountains to say the least.

DSCN1281 DSCN1304

During my long run on that day, I didn’t get up to the Dolomites but I certainly got to experience some of the beauty that is this region (Trentino) and this city (Trento).

DSCN1371

I ran through the old town Trento for a bit to start my run, but it was much too crowded for any serious running so I headed out to the bike path along the Adige River. It was perfect.

DSCN1368

The only down side was that the portion of the path that I was most comfortable running on (before it turned into a dirt shoulder on the side of the road) was only about 4km in length. That meant I had to do a few out and back loops to get my distance in, but it wasn’t the end of the world.

DSCN1386

I was back to this same region for the month of December for the 2013 World University Winter Games and of course made sure to get another run in.

1

My colleagues and I at the Winter University Games Opening Ceremonies

I haven’t been to Italy when the weather has been bad and this past December was no different. It was 10c when I went for this run and I think it was around -30c back home in Ottawa that day in December! I got a little extra enjoyment out of that run because of it!

19

 

Hoping weather like that comes to Ottawa sometime soon – I’m ready for some decent outdoor spring running!

M.

One Response to “Running in Trento, Italy”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running in Milan, Italy | Running in Transit - March 30, 2014

    […] of running in different cities around the world – Paris, Vienna, Prague, Kazan (Russia), Venice, Trento (Italy)  – I can safely say I accomplished one of my 2013 Running Goals – destination […]

Leave a Reply

