Running in Milan, Italy

30 Mar

While I was in Italy in September 2013, my business trip continued on from Venice and Trento to Milan for my last stop for two days. I didn’t want to miss the opportunity to get a run in while I was there so I work up early before my meetings and headed out.

DSCN1441

My hotel was located directly across from the Giardini Pubblici (Public Gardens) and it seems like a prime location to start my run. The silver gates at the entrance guided me into a park that featured gravel covered paths, trees, statues and fountains.

DSCN1449

I wasn’t alone in the park this time of morning. There were a few other runners and walkers around so I didn’t feel as out of place running as I sometimes do when I am in a foreign city.

DSCN1443

It was a beautiful park right in the middle of the city and I managed one loop of it before moving on to exploring other parts of the city on the run.

DSCN1448

I ran through several city streets before I reached my next destination, a larger park called Parco Sempione.

Before reaching the park, I could see Castello di Milano in the distance and knew I was close.

DSCN1452

I entered through the red brick fortress and was pleased to see the soft gravel pathways, the beautiful trees and the park areas ahead of me – looked like a wonderful place to run.

DSCN1454

It was at that moment that my camera died and I could not get any more photos of the lovely run I had through Milan! I ran through the rest of Parco Sempione and through a few other streets of Milan before heading back to my hotel.

I didn’t take my run to any of the other major tourist sites like the Duomo or Galleria Vittorio Emmanuele but did visit them later in the day (unfortunately without a working camera).

After a fantastic year of running in different cities around the world – Paris, Vienna, Prague, Kazan (Russia), Venice, Trento (Italy)  – I can safely say I accomplished one of my 2013 Running Goals – destination runs!

Hope to have many more in the future!

M

 

Leave a Reply

