One Year Later – 2013 Ottawa Race Weekend

20 May

This time last year I was in full training mode for the 2013 Ottawa Race Weekend – 10km. I was also in my absolute busiest time of work in my entire life so didn’t even have a chance to blog about one of the best running weekends I’ve ever had!

IMG_0159

With the 2014 Ottawa Race Weekend fast approaching, I was reminiscing on that weekend and wanted to capture some of my favorite photos and memories from that weekend on this blog….even if it is a whole year later!

Saturday: 10km Race – Personal Best!

I ran the 10km race on the Saturday evening and had been raising funds for a charity as part of the True Sport Running Team. It was one of my 2013 Running Goals and I was happy to accomplish it and support a great cause in the process.

I remember the weather being a little chilly but ultimately great for running. I had to spend most of my day pre-race at the office working but the good news out of that was that I was able to find some old clothes there to use of my throw away clothes that were key to keeping me warm before the race started.

IMG_0142

 

There were over 9000 runners in the 10km and the sight of that many people running together was just amazing!

I had what felt like the best long distance race of my life and finished with a personal best time of 47:30! I felt great the entire time and even managed negative splits throughout the entire 10km.

IMG_0155

Of the 9000 runners, my husband some how managed to spot me running by and was able to snap a photo in the process.

IMG_0157

Sunday: Marathon Finish Line Volunteer

On the Sunday of Race Weekend, I accomplished another one of my 2013 Running Goals – to volunteer at a race. I was a Marathon/Half-Marathon finish line volunteer, which meant helping out at the finish line distributing medals and race blankets and various other miscellaneous tasks.

IMG_1641

I met some great people and had a really fun morning being involved on the other end of a race. One of the perks of working the finish line was that we got front row seats for the finish of the elites.

IMG_1647

Those runners were incredible and inspirational. Definitely an exciting experience to be a part of. Throughout the morning, as the thousands of marathon and half marathoners streamed in, I gave away thousands of race blankets and was even more inspired by each of those runners than I could have imagined.

IMG_1652

2014 Ottawa Race Weekend

This year’s edition of Ottawa Race Weekend I will be volunteering at the finish line of the Marathon/Half Marathon once again! If you are running, let me know and I will keep an eye out for you at the finish!

M.

6 Responses to “One Year Later – 2013 Ottawa Race Weekend”

  1. Rebecca@RunningFoodBaby May 20, 2014 at 9:34 am #

    YAY!!! I hope to see you at the end of my half marathon! I’m not volunteering this year (my husband is always busy on the Saturday and Max is too crazy/young to volunteer) so I’m going to cheer on the 10K runners instead.

    • Mary May 20, 2014 at 11:04 am #

      I’ll be looking for you in Sunday morning at the finish line! Might go watch the 1000k on saturday too if i’m not too tired from the Great Glebe Garage sale shopping!

  2. Molly @ A Fresh Start For Molly May 20, 2014 at 11:02 am #

    I ran the 10K at Ottawa Race Weekend last year and it WAS a great race! The weather was perfect. I am running the full marathon this year and they are calling for slightly warmer temperatures. If you see me, please say hi!

    • Mary May 20, 2014 at 11:03 am #

      I will definitely keep an eye out for you! Good luck!!

  3. imarunner2012 May 20, 2014 at 1:32 pm #

    A friend of mine drove up from Boston last year for the marathon and he said it was great. After the marathon he hopped back in his car and drove for 6 hours back to Boston.
    Ottawa is a great city. I was there for business last year just after the marathon.
    Have a great race.

  4. Jason May 23, 2014 at 9:35 am #

    Have fun volunteering – my neighbor is running the marathon – maybe you’ll see him 🙂

Leave a Reply

