Running in Vancouver

6 Jul

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of traveling out to Vancouver for work for a week. As Vancouver is one of my favorite places to run, I excitedly packed my running gear and planned to get in several runs while out there.

I typically run on my own but a colleague of mine convinced me to let him tag along. I knew I could maintain roughly the same pace so I reluctantly agreed.

As it turns out, I ran stronger running with someone else, had a good chat with a colleague and had someone with me who could take my photo in beautiful, scenic Vancouver! Definitely beats out the million running selfies I have taken myself.

IMG_0090

Work had us staying at the Sutton Place Hotel on Burrard, right downtown. Having been to (and run in) Vancouver before, I lead my colleague on our run. On the first day, I headed down Burrard towards the harbour and ran along the waterfront until we reached Stanley Park and the Seawall.

IMG_0088

We ran along the water (and stop as I posed for the photograph above) and then looped back through the park for our return. Stanley Park is an absolutely beautiful place to run. For anyone traveling to Vancouver, I highly recommend running, walking or biking through the Park. A must see in the city.

On our second run, we took off on Burrard in the opposite direction towards the Burrard Street Bridge. We took the stairs just under the bridge to run along the water towards Stanley Park. I wanted to run by the beaches in the area and happily past English Bay Beach and Sunset Beach. It was a windy day and the entire first half of the run along the water felt like running into a wall. Good thing the view was nice!

IMG_0094

My third run was a solo run. I didn’t have my photographer with me that morning and didn’t want to take any running selfies this time. That day I headed out towards the Burrard Street Bridge again but instead of going towards Stanley Park, I turned the opposite way and ran along the water all the way to Science World.

I passed amazing looking waterfront condos and imagined what it would be like to live there and runs these routes year round! Then I snapped back to reality realizing I could NEVER afford to live there but could happily settle for running these amazing routes every time I visit this great city!

From Vancouver,  I flew directly to Newfoundland and of course managed to sneak a couple runs in there too – stay tuned for that recap!

M.

 

4 Responses to “Running in Vancouver”

  1. Rebecca@RunningFoodBaby July 7, 2014 at 10:08 am #

    Vancouver seems like such a nice place to run in! One day….

    • Mary July 7, 2014 at 10:09 am #

      You HAVE to go one day!! Go for a race for sure

  2. Imarunner2012 July 7, 2014 at 4:24 pm #

    I was in Vancouver about a month ago and stayed at the Pan Pacific. one day I ran along the shore out to Stanley Park but not as far as Lion Gate bridge. The second day I ran east on Burrard, over the bridge and into some of the neighborhoods.
    What a city! I could never afford to live there either. I can’t wait to go back.
    Cheers – Andy

    • Mary July 7, 2014 at 4:25 pm #

      It is certainly a beautiful place to run! Glad you enjoyed it too!

Leave a comment