Running Amongst the Tulips

21 May

On Sunday morning, I carved out some time for a super early (for me) long run in downtown Ottawa along the Rideau Canal and Dow’s Lake, in particular to check out all of the tulips on this last weekend of the Ottawa Tulip Festival.

IMG_1618

With the great weather we had the past few weeks, the tulips were slowly losing their luster so I didn’t want to miss a chance to get a quick view of them while they were still around.

IMG_1611

I started my run at the University of Ottawa, shortly after 6am and headed towards the Rideau Canal.

IMG_1591

The canal at this hour on a Sunday morning was the most peaceful I have ever seen it. It was so calm that I actually turned off my iPod to enjoy the sereness of it all.

IMG_1593

As I strolled down the bike path snapping pictures of the tulips and the water, I rather enjoyed having the entire pathway to myself for a little while.

IMG_1595

I even had a chance to stop and notice some interesting monuments I have never taken the time to look at. This one below is a statue commemorating the Calgary Olympics Torch Relay, flanked by some colourful tulips.

IMG_1599

As I continued along the Rideau Canal pathway to Dow’s Lake , I took in more beds of tulips and couldn’t resist stopping for pictures of them along the way. Moving on past Dow’s Lake, and crossing a picturesque little bridge…

IMG_1620

…I made it to my turnout point, Carleton University.

IMG_1623

The second half of the run back towards my starting point began to get busier with more runners on the path and cars on the road, so I was forced to share the beauty of the morning with everyone else at that point.

I just might try another early morning run again…wasn’t so bad to be up that early after all!

IMG_1597

M.

7 Responses to “Running Amongst the Tulips”

  1. Emily May 21, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    what a gorgeous run – definitely worth getting up early for! Those tulips are lovely.

    • Mary May 21, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      Thanks Emily!

  2. Rebecca@Running.Food.Baby. May 21, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    Pretty pictures! I haven’t been downtown in awhile – but looking forward to this weekend’s race! Weather is looking good!!

    • Mary May 21, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

      It looks fantastic right now! Hope it stays that way

  3. girlofthehour May 21, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    What a great run. Love that part of the city 🙂 Ottawa is a beautiful town. I love early mornings when it’s quiet and peaceful.

    • Mary May 21, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

      I agree – I don’t do nearly enough morning runs but it was definitely nice enough to push me to do it more often!

  4. Maya May 28, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    What a beautiful run!

Leave a comment